cruise control - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Interior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2005, 12:09 AM
74_Chevy's Avatar
Lead Foot Hotrodder
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Casper, Wyoming
Age: 32
Posts: 39
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
cruise control

How hard would it be to get a cruise control out of another colum and put it in my colum would I have to switch colums or can I just take the cruise unit out.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2005, 05:20 AM
poncho62's Avatar
Out of the Loop Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Age: 62
Posts: 16,871
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 20
Thanked 252 Times in 205 Posts
There is a lot more to it than just the stuff in the column........probably easier to get one of those aftermarket kits...........and most of them aren't worth crap either.
__________________
Ontario Rodders

Budget RVs
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2005, 06:59 AM
edge's Avatar
Time is short, are you ready?
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: South Carolina
Age: 45
Posts: 658
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by poncho62
........probably easier to get one of those aftermarket kits...........and most of them aren't worth crap either.
I agree with going aftermarket, and while most are probably not good quality; I have had good luck with Audovox's Universal Cruise Control CSS-100. It costs less than $100 and includes a magnet that installs on the driveshaft if you do not have a VSS signal. It is far from stock looking, but it works well. At least the two that I have installed. You can see my entire setup here:
http://www.edgesz28.com/edgesZ28/cruise.htm



Best of luck, Ed www.edgesz28.com


Did You Know?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2005, 10:22 PM
74_Chevy's Avatar
Lead Foot Hotrodder
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Casper, Wyoming
Age: 32
Posts: 39
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thanks guys I needed one cuz i'm driving to Nevada on the 2nd and I wanted to get cruise so I can save gas.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-16-2005, 06:49 AM
cboy's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Finished
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atwater, CA
Age: 69
Posts: 3,918
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by poncho62
There is a lot more to it than just the stuff in the column........probably easier to get one of those aftermarket kits...........and most of them aren't worth crap either.
Unless you already have free (or very cheap) access to a factory unit, I would agree that aftermarket is the way to go. I would disagree with poncho's assessment of aftermarket units, however. From my experience these units have fairly poor installation and troubleshooting documentation...but the units themselves function quite well once you get them dialed in. Like Ed, I've had very good luck with the Audiovox unit and wouldn't be without it in my '32. Takes the leg and butt pain out of any long distance run.

If you get the Audiovox unit and have questions during the install...just post and we'll try to help sort out the problem.

Dewey
__________________
Always learning...and sharing what I've learned. The Scratch-Built Hot Rod.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-16-2005, 07:01 PM
74_Chevy's Avatar
Lead Foot Hotrodder
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Casper, Wyoming
Age: 32
Posts: 39
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have access to truck in the junk yard I might be able to find a factory unit. I'd like to get one on the colum but if not i will prob go with the audiovox.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Interior posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Distributor Tuning and Theory - Part 1 Rick WI Engine 35 04-26-2011 12:38 AM
Port or Full time vacuum cool rockin daddy Engine 129 10-05-2010 03:00 PM
Adding Cruise Control to Street Rod JohnTN Electrical 36 03-26-2006 05:50 PM
Cruise Control Fuse Location Penumbra General Rodding Tech 2 12-18-2003 03:53 PM
Cruise Control Wiring Assignments jpd37 Electrical 1 09-30-2003 04:23 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.