cruise controll doesnt work for crap - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-10-2010, 09:15 PM
chevy1500z71's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: florida
Posts: 225
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
cruise controll doesnt work for crap

first of all thsi is for a 95 chevy haft ton pickup.my cruise control has always worked very well even with the supercharger and everyhting but after i swapped my automatic trans for a manual its just not the same, infact it kind of scary.

heres what it does, i just got on the highway, im in 5th gear and its the first time i go to use the cruise control. seems to work great, untill i go uphill and realize that it is holding my throttle position but not compensating for the hill, i loose 5mph going up the hill and it does nothing about it. ok, no big deal, it may not work 100% but at least it holds the throttle so i dont have to. then i tap the brake pedal and it doesnt disengage, in a panic i manually turn it off and it goes off. i reach to use it again and depending on its mood it may or may not work again, if it does work it may not let me use the speed up feature which normally works. normally it simply will not work after the first few times i turn it off. if it decides not to work, its not a blown fuse becasue the next day its back in business again and ready to do the same thing all over, work for a little while and then stop working.

i dont know what it is, does the cruise control module need input from the trans for tcc lockup and things like that? all the functions associated with an automatic trans have been removed from my ecm in its tune... i assume it gets its information from the ecm so i dont know why its still acting funny after i completely retuned the ecm, i went through everything and made sure everything associated with the automatic trans is gone from the tune.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-11-2010, 08:03 AM
Member
 
Last wiki edit: Ford axle ratio codes
Last journal entry: Rear Suspension
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Prattsville
Posts: 6,402
Wiki Edits: 31

Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 55 Posts
IIRC the trans has a speed sensor the cruise uses
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-11-2010, 08:03 AM
T-bucket23's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Engine basic condition - how to check Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 57
Posts: 5,291
Wiki Edits: 26

Thanks: 7
Thanked 130 Times in 114 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by chevy1500z71
first of all thsi is for a 95 chevy haft ton pickup.my cruise control has always worked very well even with the supercharger and everyhting but after i swapped my automatic trans for a manual its just not the same, infact it kind of scary.

heres what it does, i just got on the highway, im in 5th gear and its the first time i go to use the cruise control. seems to work great, untill i go uphill and realize that it is holding my throttle position but not compensating for the hill, i loose 5mph going up the hill and it does nothing about it. ok, no big deal, it may not work 100% but at least it holds the throttle so i dont have to. then i tap the brake pedal and it doesnt disengage, in a panic i manually turn it off and it goes off. i reach to use it again and depending on its mood it may or may not work again, if it does work it may not let me use the speed up feature which normally works. normally it simply will not work after the first few times i turn it off. if it decides not to work, its not a blown fuse becasue the next day its back in business again and ready to do the same thing all over, work for a little while and then stop working.

i dont know what it is, does the cruise control module need input from the trans for tcc lockup and things like that? all the functions associated with an automatic trans have been removed from my ecm in its tune... i assume it gets its information from the ecm so i dont know why its still acting funny after i completely retuned the ecm, i went through everything and made sure everything associated with the automatic trans is gone from the tune.
I would check to be sure your didnt damage the harness when you changed over the transmission. Maybe you pinched some wires or left a ground off somewhere.
__________________
Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity



Chet
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-11-2010, 02:13 PM
chevy1500z71's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: florida
Posts: 225
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i was definitely sure to get all the grounds hooked up, iv been down that road before, if i missed a ground, i would know it. however, if there was a ground in one of the connectors that was exclusive to the cruise control it could be an issue, becasue i have 3 or 4 connectors that went into the auto trans that are just not pluged into anything, thats no big deal since the ecm no longer cares about those wires, i could remove them all together, i was juts lazy and left them... unless there's something for the cruise control in there?

the vehicle speed sensor is in the transfer case tail housing since its a 4x4 truck, so that wasnt harmed during the trans swap.

everything on the truck works, the cruise control is the only thing giving me trouble...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How much Work do you do? budthespud General Rodding Tech 31 01-03-2008 09:08 AM
Well, I wont be here much until harvest ends or why you should not work for relatives CrashFarmer2 Off-Topic 9 11-11-2007 07:15 AM
"a little over" turns into $4500 over for paint job bullheimer Body - Exterior 128 02-06-2006 08:57 AM
89 honda accord, headlights wont work...and... Rubberman2003 Electrical 6 02-10-2005 05:26 AM
Work. coldknock Hotrodders' Lounge 6 11-21-2004 04:57 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.