curing lamps - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-01-2008, 09:28 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

curing lamps

Ok I am sure thier is a thread some place on this site that talks about them I am just tired of looking. Which is better short wave or long wave. 220 volt models or 110. I used to work in shop years ago and we had on that had like six individual heads on two different arms, you could bake an entire pick-up box side in 30 min, I don't need anthing like that I do work for a living. I am looking for some info on one and two bulb units that are easy to store and I can use on small areas ie door,decklid, fender. I have used curelamps before but I have squat for knowlege on them and I will be buying one in the very near future. Any one know much about them that can pass along their knowledge to me.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-01-2008, 11:03 AM
Brian Martin,Freelance adviser

Last photo:

Thanked 1,169 Times in 1,031 Posts
Short wave is much better, however, much more money.

Click here for an $800 lamp

The "Med" wave do a decent job for most garages. I have two, they get the job done.

Click for a $200 lamp

Brian
Old 01-01-2008, 11:10 AM

Last photo:

Long wave –Round bucket with 4-6 flood light bulbs cost $75-150
Totally useless for today’s good paints, worked great on enamels and lacquers years ago.
Can cause more damage then good.

Medium wave –long thin bulb (28-34 inches) runs on 110 cost $150-350 depending on quality of stand.
Does what it says penetrates ½ way through the paint and draws out the solvents, works great, cost effective for home use just a lot slower then a short wave.