Custom Wiring A Hazard Switch - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-11-2003, 08:14 AM
horvath's Avatar
Acoustic Rock ... for real.
 

Last journal entry: About Fusible Links
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Central New Jersey
Age: 63
Posts: 1,982
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Post Custom Wiring A Hazard Switch

My steering column has no hazard button in it, so I didn't wire the Hazard Wire from the EZ-Wire kit to the column plug ... I left it hanging under the dash in the interest of wiring it to an independent toggle switch.

Question : How do I wire it up??? Do I just use a 2-pole switch with the hazard wire from the kit to one pole and a ground wire to the other pole? Or does it need to be tied in to the park wires somehow?

Thanks.

Alan Horvath
<a href="http://AlanHorvath.com/54chevy/" target="_blank">54 Chevy Pickup</a>

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-11-2003, 08:35 PM
joes50's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Yuba City California
Posts: 32
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

You just need a toggle switch. Wire the hazard wire from the kit into the toggle and the wire coming out of the toggle needs to tie into the front left and right signals wires and the back left and right signal wires so they all blink when the toggle is activated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-11-2003, 10:15 PM
horvath's Avatar
Acoustic Rock ... for real.
 

Last journal entry: About Fusible Links
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Central New Jersey
Age: 63
Posts: 1,982
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Post

Aha! I get it ... THANKS, Joe.

Alan
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-11-2003, 11:50 PM
akm akm is offline
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 431
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Post

this might be a supid question but if there is a wire for the hazard lights wouldn't there be a flasher on the fuse block? if this is correct why would you have to wire it into the turn signal wires? wouldn't you just have to have a switch?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-12-2003, 05:49 AM
Limey Simon's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 114
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

Horvarth
Be careful with your wiring because if you link the Left (F&R) and right (F&R) onto a single toggle switch they'll always be connected and they'll all flash when you put left or right turn signal on (I know, I've done it). I used a hazard switch from an auto electrical store which has several terminals. The switch carries the feed to the normal turn signal switch, but CUTS this supply when you switch to hazards - and instead sends power to 2 outputs, one for left & one right. In this way your 4 turn signals aren't connected when you want them for left or right

Alternatively can EZ wire sell you an add-on to suit their wiring?
Limey
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-12-2003, 09:13 AM
horvath's Avatar
Acoustic Rock ... for real.
 

Last journal entry: About Fusible Links
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Central New Jersey
Age: 63
Posts: 1,982
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Post

akm : There is a flasher in my fuse panel, and I thought the same thing you did ... but it blew a fuse!


Limey Simon : Thanks for that info, bro'! Makes sense ... I called some places locally and no one sells hazard switches ... then I called EZ-Wire and they don't sell one either ... but I found one at <a href="http://www.Wire-Works.com/" target="_blank">Ron Francis's Wire-Works.com</a> for $29.50 (gulp!) so I guess that gets me where I need to go.

Also ... I got instructions from a post at <a href="http://www.chevytalk.org/threads/showflat.php?Cat=&Board=UBB7&Number=430316&page=0& view=collapsed&sb=5&o=&fpart=1" target="_blank">ChevyTalk.org</a> for using a 3PST switch, but I'm gonna go with the hazard switch for simplicity sake.

Alan

[ May 12, 2003: Message edited by: horvath ]</p>
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.