Hot Rod Forum banner

Cut and Buff Single Stage paint

10K views 5 replies 3 participants last post by  x711 
#1 ·
Hi all, After I complete my paint job I shall be color sanding. Do any
of you have any hints or tips for cut and buff on single stage paint.

The paint I am using is Valspar Omega 2K

Thanks X.

#2 ·
Well, that's what I'm starting to do right now only with PPG Global DG Single Stage.

This is what I am planning on doing:

1. Block by hand with 1000 wet.
2. Block by hand with 1500 wet.
3. Use 3M Trizact 3000 foam pads on a DA wet.
4. Perfect-It III Machine Glaze (05930) with a polisher and 3M foam pad.
5. Perfect-It III Finishing Glaze (05941)with a DA and 3M foam pad.

I have never done it this way before, so I hope it works well. All this stuff was outrageously expensive at the local Sherwin Williams store. Should have shopped around on the net for it.

#3 ·
roger1 said:
...4. Perfect-It III Machine Glaze (05930) with a polisher and 3M foam pad...
I'm interested to see how this works on a complete vehicle. The catalog states that this product will remove 3000 grit scratches, but also says that it's "Ideal for spot/small repair areas", which indicates to me that you might be there for an extended period with the buffer.

#4 ·
crashtech said:
I'm interested to see how this works on a complete vehicle. The catalog states that this product will remove 3000 grit scratches, but also says that it's "Ideal for spot/small repair areas", which indicates to me that you might be there for an extended period with the buffer.
Yea, I knew that when I bought this stuff but I wanted to avoid going to the wool Superbuff pads. I've had trouble in the past getting a few scratchs using wool pads although they were Schlegel brand not the 3M.
A few on this forum have indicated that using the foam pads results in no scratches. Is there an alternative to the Perfect-It III Machine Glaze that you think might work better?