cylinder psi vs compression ratio - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-06-2003, 11:09 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

cylinder psi vs compression ratio

Hi, guys. After searching through this site as best I can, I am coming to the more knowledgeable for help. I am a newbie so please go easy on me.

In searching for a new camshaft for a mild engine build (Chevy 350), I find that most cam manufacturers have a minimum compression ratio for a specific cam.

My 350 is not original to the vehicle and it seems as though it would be easier to measure cylinder pressure than compression ratio.

Is it possible to convert a psi reading to compression ratio?

The engine will be in a Chevy shortbed 2WD with 3.73 limited slip rearend. As with most people, I want all the performance I can get for the buck. My intentions are to change the cam, lifters, springs and timing chain/gears. Also will install headers,exhaust system, intake and carburetor. A new torque converter is OK if I can run a big enough cam with my compression ratio.

I would also appreciate any recommendations from those of you with more knowledge than I, which is almost all of you.

Many thanks in advance.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-06-2003, 12:01 PM

Last photo: