Dakota digital dash problem - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-13-2007, 11:26 PM
1969NovaSS's Avatar
turbo lag......yeeeeehaaaaaaw
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: oxnard,ca
Age: 27
Posts: 681
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Dakota digital dash problem

I was wondering if anyone on here has experience with dakota digital gauges? I rewired my neighbors 1958 chevy truck and installed this dash at the same time. When I have the KOEO ti rears fun but as soon as it starts the gauges start flickering. I checked the power and grounds and they check out. I mounted the control box against metal and it seemed to help then I revved the engine and it started again. I think it could be the plug wires but i dont know if they are solid core wires or not and he didn't install them. All they say are super stock copper core 8mm. Does anyone have an idea on what could be wrong or if those wires are a solid core?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2007, 12:00 AM
powerrodsmike's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Make a fiberglass fan shroud
Last journal entry: Next.. ..Bagging the king B (barge)
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: gilroy, california
Age: 53
Posts: 4,108
Wiki Edits: 161

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Inductance and RFI interference from the plugs , wires and other power sources can cause all kinds of grief with those dakota digital dashes..

Get the wires that come from the speedo pulse generator away from the plug wires and any other wires that carry current. (the firewall won't keep the inductance away) and try not to run the wires from the alternator in the same bundle as the ribbon cable for the dash or sending units.. I'd start with the speedo wires though.

That's what I had to do the last time I had a prob with the tach and speedo acting strange in a 41 plymouth with a dakota digital dash.


Now what language is this?...
Quote:
When I have the KOEO ti rears fun...

Huh?


later, mikey
__________________
my signature lines...not really directed at anyone in particular..

BE different....ACT normal.

No one is completely useless..They can always be used as a bad example
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2007, 06:02 AM
Bryan59EC's Avatar
Car? Truck? Who Cares
 

Last journal entry: First week of December
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Age: 54
Posts: 2,329
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
Solid core plug wires are a no-no with the DD gages

The speedometer wires need to be routed away from the Tach wire.

If the tach and the speed wires are too close----speedometer will read speeds other than '00' while at idle.

Bryan
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2007, 08:02 AM
1969NovaSS's Avatar
turbo lag......yeeeeehaaaaaaw
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: oxnard,ca
Age: 27
Posts: 681
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
well the speed reads 00 and doesn't flicker. The tach and the bar graph do not either. The volt, oil pres, and water temp are the ones that flicker. This may get tricky because I ran alt. wire down the intake with the water sender then they go separate ways. The oil sender runs with the 12v to e the kick down(th400) right next to the distributor(sbc). The volts are picked up from a switched 12v under the dash. The control box is mounted under the dash, upside down, right above and behind the distributor.Do you see any problems with those routings? Should I tell him to get new wires from autozone? I just don't want to do that and still have the problem. By the way Mikey It was late and spell check didn't pickup on it. When I have the Key On Engine Off it runs fine..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2007, 08:23 AM
powerrodsmike's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Make a fiberglass fan shroud
Last journal entry: Next.. ..Bagging the king B (barge)
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: gilroy, california
Age: 53
Posts: 4,108
Wiki Edits: 161

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Try the plug wires first. I'll bet that's it.

You can see if the alt wire is doing anything by pulling it loose and starting the car, then look for changes in behavior.

Also, try running a continous independent ground wire from the motor to the control box. Just a temporary one will tell you what you need to know.


later, mikey
__________________
my signature lines...not really directed at anyone in particular..

BE different....ACT normal.

No one is completely useless..They can always be used as a bad example
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2007, 10:34 AM
Irelands child's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Ford engine specifications Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 4,860
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 13
Thanked 185 Times in 166 Posts
Try some good Taylor or MSD Spiral Core wires - new the resistance is virtually zero, with no RFI and from my experience, have been better then the old copper core on street engines. Also, with an MSD box, they are a necessity.

Others have had good luck with Accel wires, my personal experience is that they last only a year or so before they seem to dry out and make interesting under hood light shows .

This is coming from someone that thought copper core and Accel was the only way.

Dave
__________________
Irelands child
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2007, 08:59 PM
1969NovaSS's Avatar
turbo lag......yeeeeehaaaaaaw
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: oxnard,ca
Age: 27
Posts: 681
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
I removed the alt. wire and it still did it. Im going to buy some cheap autozone wires just to see if thats the problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1964 Impala SS Dash 64Joker Interior 3 06-21-2007 11:30 AM
dash gauges problem dragonboy Electrical 4 01-22-2007 02:40 PM
Yargh, carbureator problem is driving me nuts (but not my car!) caustic meatloaf Engine 12 05-21-2006 12:41 PM
1987 Eldorado headlight & dash light Cadillac Electrical 1 12-08-2003 02:45 PM
Matching Dakota 57Chevyman Interior 2 02-22-2002 03:41 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.