Dakota Digital Fan Controller? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2011, 02:08 PM
roger1's Avatar
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Angelo,TX
Age: 59
Posts: 1,099
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 12
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Dakota Digital Fan Controller?

Where did you all mount yours?

They sure could have designed it differently. It has a nice digital readout but I can't figure out a way to mount it in my '55 Bel Air so it can be seen while driving. You can do it if you don't mind seeing the wires, circuit board and crude switches.

If anyone got creative with this, it would be cool to see a pic.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2011, 02:25 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Havent been impressed with Dakota products. I have one of their automatic suicide door lock modules. The press to connect wire connections take the smallest wire I think I have ever seen in a car. I had to splice on #22 wires to my #14 wires from my door lock switches and speed sensor.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2011, 03:07 PM
roger1's Avatar
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Angelo,TX
Age: 59
Posts: 1,099
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 12
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Vince,
There really isn't anything else on the market that I know about that has the features this thing has.

I have this radiator:



I am going to run these 14" Maradyne fans at half speed coming on at 190 and off at 180 and full speed coming on at 200 and off at 190. I still need 3 relays to do this but the on and off temps for both high and low are programmable with the Dakota Digital controller.

I also am going to have the fans go to full speed based on the high side a/c pressure. The Trinary switch from Vintage Air will wire into the Dakota Digital controller to allow this easily.

The features on this thing are really good and I think it has a pretty good reputation from what I've read. I sure wish they designed the looks of the controller better.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2011, 05:51 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
There are those stupid press to connect wire connectors . I don't know why they do not use the screw connections like most of industry uses.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2011, 07:05 AM
roger1's Avatar
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Angelo,TX
Age: 59
Posts: 1,099
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 12
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 302 Z28
There are those stupid press to connect wire connectors . I don't know why they do not use the screw connections like most of industry uses.Vince
Yeah, that sucks. I think it should have a built in pigtail or screw connections like you say.

The functionality of this thing is great but the controller design stinks. What were they thinking?

I guess I'll mount it up under the dash in some way (maybe on some type of clip) so that I can pull it down easily to adjust the programming.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-11-2011, 05:13 PM
roger1's Avatar
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Angelo,TX
Age: 59
Posts: 1,099
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 12
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Here's what I did.
It took a lot of studying for this. I spent way too much time. But that's me.

I cut the mounting ears off of the controller box and then drilled it from the back where the screws held the box together. I drilled all the way through so I could use the 4 holes to mount the box to glove box. This Vintage Air glove box is real shallow on the right side and seems like a wasted area and a good place to put the controller. But it won't fit there without removing the mounting ears.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-11-2011, 06:01 PM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,109
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 143 Times in 133 Posts
looks like top shelf work!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-11-2011, 06:09 PM
gow589's Avatar
the Clever Turn Signal
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 399
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
This could be controlled by thermostat. You could use the 2x25 to control it with 2 different temp sensors at 2 different speed (using resistors to act like a reference pot).

This would not need relays:

http://www.dimensionengineering.com/SyRen25.htm

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-11-2011, 06:11 PM
gow589's Avatar
the Clever Turn Signal
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 399
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
I take that back, you could still use the single with two differerent control connections. One using resistors, one not for two different an speeds.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dakota Digital Dash Problems kirkschopped67 Electrical 10 07-16-2009 02:37 PM
Dakota digital dash problem 1969NovaSS Electrical 6 09-14-2007 08:59 PM
Dakota Digital Gages Bryan59EC Hotrodders' Lounge 0 07-06-2006 07:16 PM
Dakota Digital Gauges 'Lil 85 Introduce Yourself 2 11-27-2005 06:33 PM
Dakota Digital?? DeathByGreaser Interior 1 12-03-2002 01:41 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.