Detroit Locker - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2005, 03:01 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Detroit Locker

Hello
I am building an old corvette as a street/strip car. The car has a narrowed Dana in it now with 35 spline axles and a spool
I don't want to use the spool on the street and had wondered if anyone has used a locker? I know there are not as loose as a posi unit for cornering, but I have no experience with them at all
I have 19.5 x 33 inch tires on the back and they are about 28 inches apart. Is this still going to be bad for turning corners with a Locker unit?
This car will be limited to a few thousand miles a year,but my biggest concern will be attracting unwanted attenton, from the local police if it spins the inside tire in a tight corner
I had thought of using a posi unit out of a 3/4 or a 1 ton truck , but I am unsure if the Dana 60 is the same for them as a passenger car posi unit
Using a posi would mean I would have to change the rear end set up for the strip, which may only be once a year( yes I know this is a lot of work)
I would appreciate any input
Tom

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-05-2005, 03:39 PM

Last photo:

The Detroit Locker will allow each rear tire to turn at different speeds when you turn and should hear a clicking when you turn to allow for the different wheel speeds so it won't chirp the inside tire going around a corner .
Old 11-05-2005, 11:43 PM
Save a horse, Ride a Cowboy.

Last photo:

Quote:
Originally Posted by tornado-tech