Difference between 87-up and pre 87 camshafts - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2012, 02:00 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Difference between 87-up and pre 87 camshafts

Guys is there a difference between camshafts that fit 87-up and pre 87 vehicles. The reason I ask is because I have been running the cam below in my 94 c1500 for about two months now.

JEGS Performance Products 200002 JEGS Performance Hydraulic Flat Tappet Camshafts=

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-02-2012, 07:20 PM

The biggest difference between them is the lobe for the fuel pump push rod. The newer motors with FI run an electric fuel pump and don't use a mechanical fuel pum.
Old 12-02-2012, 07:48 PM
WFO

Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 1616

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChevroletSS View Post
Guys is there a difference between camshafts that fit 87-up and pre 87 vehicles. The reason I ask is because I have been running the cam below in my 94 c1500 for about two months now.

JEGS Performance Products 200002 JEGS Performance Hydraulic Flat Tappet Camshafts=
A flat tappet cam will be the same thing regardless of the year (until you go back to the 265). Chances are- if your block is original to that truck- it came w/a flat tappet cam in it from the factory.

You and your cam are fine.
Old 12-02-2012, 10:02 PM

1987 and up cams