Disconnecting Original Wire Harness - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-17-2007, 05:36 PM

Last journal entry: Engine Thoughts
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Disconnecting Original Wire Harness

I am new to the car restoration world and have only begun work on my 70 Nova 307 and may have plenty of questions so please bear with me. I will try to use the FAQ first and I am waiting for some reference books to show up as well.
I am trying to disconnect the wire harness from the firewall in the engine compartment so I can replace it when I get the new harness. The harness goes into a block on the firewall and I have removed the 1 center bolt (engine side) and the 2 screws underneath the dash at the fuse box. This block will not come apart. Am I missing something or this being stubborn because it is all original and hard to pull apart?
It looks like I will have to remove the radiator top support and or grill to install the light harness across the front of the car. any suggestions?
I really appreciate it.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-17-2007, 06:09 PM

Last wiki edit: Wheelbase database Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by mynovacane
I am trying to disconnect the wire harness from the firewall in the engine compartment so I can replace it when I get the new harness. The harness goes into a block on the firewall and I have removed the 1 center bolt (engine side) and the 2 screws underneath the dash at the fuse box. This block will not come apart. Am I missing something or this being stubborn because it is all original and hard to pull apart?