DIY tranny rebuild? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-02-2004, 03:30 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

DIY tranny rebuild?

I'm debating whether to do a high performance rebuild of my TH 350...is it a reasonable idea for a novice? I have some experience with engines but this is a whole new ball game. Should I use a standard video for rebuilding or are there videos specifically for higher performance rebuilds? I haven't found any only one on Amazon.com. I would appreciate any feedback on this, thanks.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-02-2004, 03:44 PM

Last photo:

Hi Marcus.. My suggestion is go for it!!!

I recently tackled my first HT350 tranny and had fun and it works perfectly. My suggestion is to get This book here or one like it.

I got one by HP books and it walked me through every step. I also enlisted the help of a local tranny builder at Aamco! He came highly recommended by the parts supplier here that I used, TranStar. He was a life saver on helping me judge good/bad/marginal parts.

There are a few things that you will probably need a tranny shop to do, but its not a biggie. The hardest if you don't have the tools, it compressing the apply piston springs so you can remove the pistons to change the sealing rings. Again, its no biggie for any shop and actually, the book shows how to do it your self, but I buggered up one spring and decided to get help. The guy never charged me a dime for all the help and a few parts that I needed that didn't come it the kit.