do halogen lights need relays? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2010, 10:31 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 1,091
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
do halogen lights need relays?

I've always used relays on elec fuel pumps,elec fans,& horn. I know they won't hurt to use them on anything,but do you really need them with halogen headlights? I thought they use less juice than sealed beams.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2010, 12:25 PM
35terraplane's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MN, ON THE DARK SIDE OF THE MOON
Age: 70
Posts: 1,327
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 61 Times in 52 Posts
do halogen lights need relays

Quote:
Originally Posted by yragat
I've always used relays on elec fuel pumps,elec fans,& horn. I know they won't hurt to use them on anything,but do you really need them with halogen headlights? I thought they use less juice than sealed beams.
I have wired a lot of cars and have never used relays on halogen, and I believe I have used them on every car.

35terraplane
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2010, 01:59 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
If the car is OEM wiring and did not come standard with halogens then YES you need to run them off relays with the appropriate wire size feeding the lamps. OEM wiring is usually insufficient for that added amperage draw of halogen lamps.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2010, 02:14 PM
35terraplane's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MN, ON THE DARK SIDE OF THE MOON
Age: 70
Posts: 1,327
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 61 Times in 52 Posts
RElays on halogen

Quote:
Originally Posted by 302 Z28
If the car is OEM wiring and did not come standard with halogens then YES you need to run them off relays with the appropriate wire size feeding the lamps. OEM wiring is usually insufficient for that added amperage draw of halogen lamps.

Vince
I agree on OEM wiring on car that didn't come with halogen. I was rewiring the whole car so used wire that was the right size and never used them.

35terraplane
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2010, 02:51 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 1,091
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
so if the wire is the right gauge then you don't need the relays---is that right?
What is the correct gauge wire to use with halogen's?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2010, 03:13 PM
35terraplane's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MN, ON THE DARK SIDE OF THE MOON
Age: 70
Posts: 1,327
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 61 Times in 52 Posts
halogen lights

Quote:
Originally Posted by yragat
so if the wire is the right gauge then you don't need the relays---is that right?
What is the correct gauge wire to use with halogen's?
I use 14ga. and that's all the way from the light switch to the dimmer switch to the headlights. Now I wire street rods not newer cars, so when I wire the lights I put a small terminal block on the inter fender and run the wires to that, then from there to the headlight, whatever is on the fender, turn signal, ETC. Then I use a Ron Francis headlight kit from the light to that terminal block. His kit is about $20.00 or so, but all the wires are in a rubber or plastic. Anyway I do this so if you ever have to take anything off the front end you don't have to cut wires. Take a fender off just unhook the wires that you need to. I also put a terminal block on the inter fender on the Pass. side for the same reason. Been doing it over 30 years like that, never had a car come back.

35terraplane
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2010, 08:25 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 14
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
35terraplane is right on track. You will need to relay them if the car did not come with halogen headlights.

We offer a ***************** that makes the conversion simple. It includes a quick wiring diagram/instructions on how to hook it up.

Hope this helps! Let us know if you have any questions.

Last edited by T-bucket23; 10-27-2010 at 09:03 AM. Reason: Violation of guidelines. Please see: general board guidelines.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2010, 08:45 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
It is not permissible to advertise your business on this site, please read the posting guidelines. I'm sure a moderator will remove your web address shortly.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2010, 09:53 PM
35terraplane's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MN, ON THE DARK SIDE OF THE MOON
Age: 70
Posts: 1,327
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 61 Times in 52 Posts
halogen lights

Quote:
Originally Posted by 302 Z28
It is not permissible to advertise your business on this site, please read the posting guidelines. I'm sure a moderator will remove your web address shortly.

Vince
Thanks Vince I was just going to say the same thing.

Bob 35terraplane
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2010, 10:02 PM
Semper Gumby
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 335
Wiki Edits: 2

Thanks: 157
Thanked 163 Times in 133 Posts
halogen bulbs

I didn't need a relay on my '57 Chev. In fact I have not needed relays in anything I have converted to H1 bulb - type lights. My buddy didn't need a relay on his '64 Malibu - until he put the H1 lites in his hi-beam sockets along with the H4 (dual filament) ones in the low beam positions. THEN, if he hit the high beams, things got silly, with overloaded breakers, flickering lights etc. So I wired in a couple of relays - and all is good! (Come to think of it, once upon a time wifey had a '77 Monza Spyder and it would not tolerate long runs with High beams after I had put the Bosch H4 and H1combination in it, too! (Needed a relay in that one, too!)

If I had just replaced the low/high beam lights with the H4 set , it likely would have been OK sans a relay, but changing the High-beams to H1s in addition.....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2010, 10:31 PM
adantessr's Avatar
'23 T-Bucket Pickup
 
Last wiki edit: Troubleshooting ignition Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Charleston , WV
Age: 62
Posts: 1,549
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 43
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Dave57210 ,

Did you notice how much heavier the wire was in the '57 and '64 as compared to the '77 ? My '75 Nova had "aluminum" wiring to the rear lights . Yikes ! And I couldn't believe the size of the wiring to the headlights on my '99 Silverado . It looked like 18 or 20 gauge .
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 10-27-2010, 07:31 AM
pepi's Avatar
How’s that hopey-changey thing
 
Last wiki edit: Determining top dead center
Last journal entry: Quicky frame dolly
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Georgia ... USA
Posts: 1,835
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 302 Z28
It is not permissible to advertise your business on this site, please read the posting guidelines. I'm sure a moderator will remove your web address shortly.

Vince
still there
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 10-27-2010, 08:03 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 14
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I wasn't trying to be 'spammy'. Just showing the issuing post a viable option to the issue they are having. It is the direction I would take if I were in the same position.

I'd take the post down myself if it was an option, but unfortunately it's not.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 10-27-2010, 10:32 AM
Member
 
Last wiki edit: Ford axle ratio codes
Last journal entry: Rear Suspension
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Prattsville
Posts: 6,389
Wiki Edits: 31

Thanks: 2
Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts
My Falcon had sealed beam Halogens with the factory wiring. never did see any ill effects.. I always was going to put relays in 'just because', but the engine was more important..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 10-27-2010, 11:25 AM
adantessr's Avatar
'23 T-Bucket Pickup
 
Last wiki edit: Troubleshooting ignition Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Charleston , WV
Age: 62
Posts: 1,549
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 43
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Ohms law

If I remember Ohms law correctly . Watts / volts = amps . So if you have 150 watts on a 12 volt system = 12.5 amps x 2 = 25 amps draw . You can figure out from this what you need to do . 14 gauge wiring is only rated for 15 amps . So plug the wattage of your lamps into ohms law and decide from there . Hope this helps .
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Halogen lights in '36 Ford Reflectors flynbrian48 Electrical 2 11-20-2007 07:58 AM
Having problems with the tail lights... HammerGVette Electrical 3 04-17-2007 01:06 AM
halogen lights in a 37 chevy p/u junkyardjeff Electrical 3 10-23-2006 09:51 PM
voltage to tail lights vs brake lights? stratt134 Electrical 12 06-10-2006 06:51 PM
relays on head lights 49dream Electrical 4 11-04-2004 09:36 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.