Do i have both manifold and port vacuum in my distributor? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-20-2012, 09:25 AM
m1911a2's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Do i have both manifold and port vacuum in my distributor?

Good day Gentlemen, do i have both manifold and ported vacuum in my distributor? Please take a look on the illustration below.





Below is the photo of the actual distributor.


photo sharing sites

image sharing
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-20-2012, 10:16 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 6,437
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 331 Times in 288 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by m1911a2 View Post
Good day Gentlemen, do i have both manifold and ported vacuum in my distributor? Please take a look on the illustration below.





Below is the photo of the actual distributor.


photo sharing sites

image sharing
This would be an advance or retard system that thermally controls the vacuum source to each side of the diaphragm.

Classically when we talk about ported or not we're referring to the prime vacuum source at the carb or throttle body where the vacuum at idle can be sourced from below the throttle blades which would see full manifold vacuum all the time; or is sourced just above the idle position where manifold vacuum becomes timed by the throttle opening, typically at idle there would be no vacuum then as the throttle is opened the port would become exposed to manifold vacuum.

What you have is thermally controlled system undoubtedly for emissions management. The prime source may be a timed port or a full time port; you'd have to run that down at the carb.



Bogie
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Tags
distributor vacuum, manifold vacuum, port vacuum

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
holley vacuum port for distributor jp412 Engine 5 06-13-2010 01:48 PM
Manifold Vs Timed Port Vacuum My68Vette Engine 68 06-23-2009 02:05 PM
Drilling new manifold for a vacuum port? camaro freak Engine 7 05-01-2007 07:15 AM
Vacuum port on manifold topdogger Engine 2 03-11-2007 09:58 PM
?'s about manifold and port vacuum. s15laynrubba Engine 5 07-22-2003 08:16 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.