Do it myself? Please help! - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-22-2003, 09:39 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Cool Do it myself? Please help!

GRRR!
My once beautiful GMC truck fell victim to petit theft, in which the perps attacked both door handles with screwdrivers.

I've gotten two estimates, one for $600 and another for $800. I can't afford this in the near future.

I was thinking about shaving the door handles, and trying to do this repair myself. I have no experience and in my mind it seems to be easier to just shave them off, rather than attempt to return them to their original state.

So, I was just at Pep Boys and noticed how inexpensive the materials and tools were. Perhaps $50 (not including paint)? I saw an aluminum mesh with an adhesive backing that's ready to stuck and be bondo'd. As a complete newbie, what are my chances of making these things near perfect my first time out? I won't do the paint myself more than likely. As for the internal workings of the shaved door, would I be able to use the door lock motor as the door popper?

Any advice for my situation would be greatly appreciated.

Phillip

[ January 22, 2003: Message edited by: Victim ]</p>

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-22-2003, 11:47 AM
Fantastically cannibalistic!

Last photo: