Do you REALLY want to put it there???? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > General Discussion> Hotrodders' Lounge
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2007, 10:55 AM
Bryan59EC's Avatar
Car? Truck? Who Cares
 

Last journal entry: First week of December
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Age: 54
Posts: 2,329
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
Do you REALLY want to put it there????

Well, since this is a holiday, and I need not go to work today,
along with the fact that So. San Antonio is about to turn into a big quicksand bog (raining forever) ----(pause for breath---long sentence coming),
and--the motor is out of the 59 to a machine shop to fix the real bad oil consumption issue (GMPP 454HO sucking oil),---and my Dakota Digital gages have been giving me weird messages at start-up (usually have to turn car off and restart for messages to go away),---
---I thought that I would go ahead and pull the gage control box out to send it to Dakota Digital for updating.

Now---the reason for the post
Seems there is a downside to carefully thinking out a build and the locations of components that are under the dash.
I mounted the control box under the dash in the space that the original radio speaker was located----out of the way--easy to get to if needed----
Ya---Right! This was placed and connected BEFORE the AC unit went in.
And then on top of that, I placed the connectors to the box left of the dash support. So, remove ash tray, stereo, AC control relays, AC ducting, clutch/brake pedals and supports, etc., all while laying on my back, in a dark garage, fighting the floor shifter. And also having to get both hands to the top of the dash, where the connectors are, attempting to get the NEW packard 56 connectors apart.

Dakota is going to update the box for free. Hope the turnaround time is not too long. I'm gonna want to replace it before the engine comes back from the machine shop.

Anyway---any of you guys have DD gages that are a few years old, and at times give you weird messages or generally act weird---You can get the boxes updated at no cost. Also the gent I spoke to told me that they do all they can to save your present settings (as I have a custom setting for the fuel gage, and it it very time consuming to program)

So when you are building your toys---and think you know how & where everything will go----RE-THINK

(everything will go better on the 66 Elky project & better yet on the 64 C-10)

Bryan

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2007, 11:06 AM
helrazr3's Avatar
im on a highway to hell
 

Last journal entry: new wheels and seats
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: billerica, mass
Age: 49
Posts: 689
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
whew!!! i originally thought this thread was going to have a different meaning but then i saw it wasnt in off topic


no matter how hard you try to avoid it something will come back to bite you in the bumm
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2007, 03:38 PM
35WINDOW's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Dash Mock-up
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: utah
Age: 58
Posts: 1,392
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 7
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
I'm not ready for it (just trying to think ahead), but I would sure like to see how everyone has mounted their Fuse Boxes, Relays, MSD boxes and such. I have a B****in' Products Firewall and am trying to think of the best way (or ways) to do this-
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-05-2007, 09:14 AM
Irelands child's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Ford engine specifications Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 4,865
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 13
Thanked 185 Times in 166 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 35WINDOW
I'm not ready for it (just trying to think ahead), but I would sure like to see how everyone has mounted their Fuse Boxes, Relays, MSD boxes and such. I have a B****in' Products Firewall and am trying to think of the best way (or ways) to do this-
Since the recessed firewall takes a bunch of space and if you are going to have an A/C you might consider behind the seats. My upholsterer did this for me as seen from the trunk and the pass compartment. The hatch is for access to my American Autowire module and the trunk panel comes out fairly easily for other wiring access if needed.

Dave
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Interior6-1.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	73.3 KB
ID:	22534   Click image for larger version

Name:	Interior9-1.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	80.5 KB
ID:	22535  
__________________
Irelands child
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-05-2007, 11:49 AM
35WINDOW's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Dash Mock-up
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: utah
Age: 58
Posts: 1,392
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 7
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Dave,

Thanks a bunch for the pictures-I had considered putting it in the rear, and in the next few weeks (after I get the Bear Claw Hinge Project finished) will start with a framing of sorts for the Interior Panels and will see how much room I will have, although those old Fords do have a bunch of space back there (even with Wheel Tubs).

I think it makes a lot of sense (especially since the Battery will be back there)-
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-05-2007, 12:32 PM
Irelands child's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Ford engine specifications Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 4,865
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 13
Thanked 185 Times in 166 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 35WINDOW
Dave,

Thanks a bunch for the pictures-I had considered putting it in the rear, and in the next few weeks (after I get the Bear Claw Hinge Project finished) will start with a framing of sorts for the Interior Panels and will see how much room I will have, although those old Fords do have a bunch of space back there (even with Wheel Tubs).

I think it makes a lot of sense (especially since the Battery will be back there)-
I had lots of trunk room 'til I put my maxi size Optima battery in the trunk - though not in the photo. Don't know which wiring module or even if you are doing your own, but there should be plenty of room. I just didn't have enough under body space with a TCI Model A frame for a drop down box.

Dave
__________________
Irelands child
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-05-2007, 07:29 PM
Blazin72's Avatar
You got a leaky spark tube...
 
Last wiki edit: Rearend removal
Last journal entry: General Lee
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Union, WA
Age: 32
Posts: 2,868
Wiki Edits: 19

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 35WINDOW
I'm not ready for it (just trying to think ahead), but I would sure like to see how everyone has mounted their Fuse Boxes, Relays, MSD boxes and such. I have a B****in' Products Firewall and am trying to think of the best way (or ways) to do this-
When I go through the Blazer I'm going to mount the fuse block, MSD, etc where the glove box is. If I need to get to something it should be easily accessed while still being hidden under the dash.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-06-2007, 07:47 AM
35WINDOW's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Dash Mock-up
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: utah
Age: 58
Posts: 1,392
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 7
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blazin72
When I go through the Blazer I'm going to mount the fuse block, MSD, etc where the glove box is. If I need to get to something it should be easily accessed while still being hidden under the dash.

I wish I had that kind of room-with the set-back Firewall (what Ireland's Child said), an A/C unit and the general lack of space that '30's Fords had, I'm just not sure that there is sufficietn room under there.

Dave, I'm going to do my own wiring ( ) and will also use a Yellow Top Optima-I think I probably have a little more room under there than a Model A , thanks for the info-like I said, I'm just in the planning stages of that (wish I was farther along-I never thought this Project would take this long).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-06-2007, 11:01 AM
Irelands child's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Ford engine specifications Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 4,865
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 13
Thanked 185 Times in 166 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 35WINDOW
I wish I had that kind of room-with the set-back Firewall (what Ireland's Child said), an A/C unit and the general lack of space that '30's Fords had, I'm just not sure that there is sufficietn room under there.

Dave, I'm going to do my own wiring ( )

-like I said, I'm just in the planning stages of that (wish I was farther along-I never thought this Project would take this long).
Been there done that with the wiring. By the time I was done, I might have saved $50 but the parts chasin', head scratchin' and draftin' time put me over the top with UPS shipping and gas as well .

Time - what started out as a 2 year build has become a 6 year study in frustration . I feel like I'm on the home path now with final paint and assembly in the next couple of months (maybe??).

Dave
__________________
Irelands child
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-06-2007, 11:03 AM
Irelands child's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Ford engine specifications Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 4,865
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 13
Thanked 185 Times in 166 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blazin72
When I go through the Blazer I'm going to mount the fuse block, MSD, etc where the glove box is. If I need to get to something it should be easily accessed while still being hidden under the dash.
An MSD box runs fairly warm and needs to be cooled - so be careful where you end up mounting it. Behind a glove box door might not be the best location
__________________
Irelands child
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Hotrodders' Lounge posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tryin to pimp put put lawnmower but its being a b klam4 Hotrodders' Lounge 10 12-03-2004 01:07 PM
what should I put in? Silentlion_69 Engine 4 10-22-2004 11:05 AM
Engine stalls when put into gear 72Nova383 Engine 20 07-25-2004 02:29 PM
Once my "new" fiero motor goes...which of these shoudl i put in it? Rubberman2003 Hotrodders' Lounge 18 08-03-2003 10:55 PM
need help, I want to put a 95 LT1 in a Jeep postman Engine 2 06-18-2003 09:39 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.