Dodge Dakota Factory Tach Adapter - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-16-2011, 03:14 PM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,063
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 190
Thanked 239 Times in 222 Posts
Dodge Dakota Factory Tach Adapter

My friend has a 90 Dakota. He has shovled a warmed up magnum 360 into.
He is running the Mallory Unilite 3757901 dizzy and 29219 Coil on it.
He wants to run the factory in dash Tachometer.
Does anyone know the correct adapter for this app?
I see lots of adapters but I am unsure of the compatibility.
The factory in dash (in cluster) Tach got its signal from the original EFI computer (SBEC) wich is history(natch) and I dont have info on the signal type or voltage level to run it.
Anyone running this setup care to help?
I am configuring the wiring harness (from the stock harness) and have it mostly setup but want to get this right before I tape it up and hang it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2011, 04:44 PM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,063
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 190
Thanked 239 Times in 222 Posts
Anyone? ..........
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-20-2011, 12:50 PM
vicrod's Avatar
life is a ride
 

Last journal entry: LED tail lights
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Telford, PA
Age: 71
Posts: 1,237
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 42 Posts
Google this:
1990 Dodge MSD M468910.
I think this will work.

vicod
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-20-2011, 05:51 PM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,063
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 190
Thanked 239 Times in 222 Posts
OK Will do vicrod. I did some research since the original post date and time, for what its worth, I found an article that said the tach is calibrated to work on a signal for a 4 cylinder as a few dakotas had. The article went on to say that the ECM (sbec) for the v6 and v8 modifies the signal to the tach so the same factory tach unit can be used on any one of the 3 engines and still read correctly. I figured it was worth the mention . I think it said this was applicable for the first Gen Dakotas
I found No one who has said they were running a factory tach with an adapter. I will look into the one you have posted.
Thanks for the reply.

Last edited by latech; 07-20-2011 at 05:56 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2011, 10:31 AM
vicrod's Avatar
life is a ride
 

Last journal entry: LED tail lights
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Telford, PA
Age: 71
Posts: 1,237
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 42 Posts
You would think that the folks that make the aftermarket ignition systems would run into this often.
I see that Mallory also make a "tach adapter" .
I read in one of my shop manuals for a 2003 Durango www.alldatadiy.com that the PCM sends a pulse to the tach every 55 milliseconds to refresh the reading. The engine speed data is derived from the crankshaft position sensor. So the numbers of cylinders is not as issue.
FYI

vicrod
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
73 Ford 302 with factory tach.. onebadmerc Engine 2 10-20-2006 06:09 PM
HEI and factory tach Impalatom Electrical 3 06-26-2005 09:00 PM
factory tach 81-87 chevy truck djtejas Electrical 5 10-12-2004 02:06 PM
Factory Tach not working Killer80RS Engine 2 10-23-2003 07:41 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.