does tv. cable come any longer? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-27-2010, 06:57 PM
candy63impala's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: sc
Posts: 122
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
does tv. cable come any longer?

i have a s10 blazer here that someone swapped in a 94 4.3 but left the 700r trans. my question is i need to find a cable that is about 4-6 inches longer. the original engine had a center mount tb and the current has a front mount tb. the cable isnt long enuff to mount. is the any cars that you know of that have a longer cable or a replacement that is longer?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-27-2010, 08:22 PM
M&M CUSTOM's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Transmission identification
Last journal entry: 1988 Suburban, the project continues.
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northwest Pennsylvania.
Age: 43
Posts: 2,231
Wiki Edits: 9

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Chevy Astro vans, you could try something like a full size truck with the 5.0 or 5.7 engines, but the longest that comes to mind is the 82-84 Camaro with Crossfire injection.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-27-2010, 08:31 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,132
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 358
Thanked 104 Times in 100 Posts
some of the tune port engine applications had long TV cables
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-27-2010, 08:53 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 67
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
you're probably better up fabbing something up that is the perfect length, as finding an OEM cable that is just the right length for proper operation is a pretty huge crapshoot.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-28-2010, 08:43 AM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
Get the longer Universal TV cable & adjust/cut to length. You can see both lengths here>> http://www.makcotransmissionparts.co...-700R4mis.html or measure your cable & see which you can use.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-28-2010, 08:56 AM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 59
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 597 Times in 546 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by candy63impala
i have a s10 blazer here that someone swapped in a 94 4.3 but left the 700r trans. my question is i need to find a cable that is about 4-6 inches longer. the original engine had a center mount tb and the current has a front mount tb. the cable isnt long enuff to mount. is the any cars that you know of that have a longer cable or a replacement that is longer?
There isn't a clamped portion underneath or re-routing that will let you eek out that 4"- 6"?

I'm sure you've looked, but darn, a whole new cable for just that wee bit...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-28-2010, 09:55 AM
boatbob2
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: north florida
Age: 76
Posts: 1,374
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 6
Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts
throttle cable.....

Hi,you can find an adjustable cable at NAPA..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-28-2010, 12:02 PM
fast68's Avatar
likes chevy trucks & boobies
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: IL
Posts: 1,970
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
many different length ones yes

also F body ones are an option.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-28-2010, 04:33 PM
candy63impala's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: sc
Posts: 122
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thanks,i was thinking maybe a camaro or something would be a bit longer maybe. ill probaly pull it off tonight or tomorow and check napa
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01-29-2010, 06:08 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: shelbyville in.
Posts: 169
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
boatbob2
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 01-30-2010, 02:32 PM
123pugsy's Avatar
HOT ROD...... FROM A CHRYSLER?
 
Last wiki edit: Metal shaping
Last journal entry: FLOOR BEADS
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Markham,ON
Age: 52
Posts: 2,404
Wiki Edits: 29

Thanks: 474
Thanked 285 Times in 245 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crosley
some of the tune port engine applications had long TV cables

I have a TPI in my pickup with the 700r4 and the throttle body is at the front.

Watch out for adjustable cables.
I had one and the connection point to the pull cable at the tranny was hanging up and could not achieve full pull.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TV kickdown cable bracket lwin517 Transmission - Rearend 1 03-24-2009 12:26 PM
TV Cable Length Too Short? 700r4/2004r Cousin_Joe Transmission - Rearend 3 03-03-2009 03:06 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.