Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board

Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/)
-   Interior (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/interior/)
-   -   door panels are a ****** !! (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/door-panels-229063.html)

big56 02-01-2013 03:05 PM

door panels are a ****** !!

I have been having issues when trying to use the same vinyl I use for my seats on my door panels. I can't get it to stay in the creases I put in my closed cell foam , simply to thick. When I try to find same vinyl color in thinner stock I can't. These guys who write these how to do interior books leave out the biggest part which is everything about material,colors,vinyl , leather like vinyl and so on so the average guy has to spend months trying to get an answer.I bought a new consew 206rb5 sewing machine for my sewing and time I do have newly retired at 53 yrs and was a diemaker by trade so taking my time isn't an issue answers are , I feel the doorpanels are the hardest and all videos are using lite material like tweed so is there anyone who can answer a few of my questions thanks

kleen56 02-01-2013 03:57 PM

The material you are using on the door panel is too thick and not pliable. You have a couple of options if you want to use it. 1. You can avoid the creases altogether and have a smooth surface, or make the crease a little wider so the material can be pressed in the crease. 2. Use a material like cloth or suede that will press into the crease easier. Use a good adhesive (I use 3M) that dries quickly and use plenty on both sides of the crease and material. I used a plastic knife looking tool to press the material into the crease, then I've also used one of those tools to install screen rope. Don't buy the ones with the metal wheels, get the plastic one. The metal will cut into the material.

beachbum jim 02-01-2013 06:20 PM