Double flare brake line problems - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-15-2003, 11:22 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Post Double flare brake line problems

I am having trouble using a double flare tool to do the brake lines on my 33 Plymouth. I have done a fair amount of 37 degree tubing (aircraft quality) work with flaring and bending so I am not a complete novice at this but just about ever double flare turns out to be off center or slightly bent. The end is first filed flat, outside edges slightly filed smooth, inside diameter of the tube is chamfered and then I hit the end to be flared with some 240 sandpaper just to smooth everything out.

Should I look for a new flaring tool set or am I doing something wrong? The one I now have is the second one of the same manufacturer but I am still getting the same poor results. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-15-2003, 01:50 PM
Hotrodders.com Moderator

Last wiki edit: How to rebuild a Rochester Quadrajet 4MV carbureto...
Last journal entry: How to change auto shift timing on 200R4
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 21