drilled through water jacket 350 engine - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-24-2012, 08:21 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 21
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
drilled through water jacket 350 engine

Hey guy's need alittle advise, I have a 350 motor putting together. I was putting on the brackets on the side of block "Driver side" for the motor mounts. There's three bolt holes the bottom one I broke the bolt. First step drill pilot hole, well you could say I went through the broken stud in block. Remeber it's the bottom stud. My plan of action tried easy out no luck the bolt had loc-***. Long story shot re-threaded the hole cleaned out area, filled the new bolt hole with Ultra Grey high torque RTV silicone and then put loc-*** on bolt. I'm suppost to torque the bolt down to 75 ftp, I didn't want to push it so i put 50 ftp, the top two are at 75ftp as my book require's. Will I be safe with this repair? Learned valuble lesson "NOT TO USE OLD BOLTS". Also the reson I only went 50ftp was cause I broke one in the same area but was able to remove. What the ******* lol!

    Advertisement

Last edited by 68NovaSS; 04-24-2012 at 08:43 AM. Reason: Profanity. Please see: general board guidelines.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-24-2012, 08:45 AM
68NovaSS's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Working with chromed bolts
Last journal entry: New to me T-Bucket
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nine Mile Falls/Suncrest, WA
Posts: 5,250
Wiki Edits: 9

Thanks: 105
Thanked 133 Times in 124 Posts
Depending on how thick the area is, I would have drilled it oversize and tapped it, and used a sealer on it. Going into the water jacket isn't a big deal, you have head bolts doing that.

Read the board guidelines about circumventing the profanity filter, you did that here.
__________________
Boost adds dignity to what would otherwise be a vulgar brawl...

Midnight Sun Street Rod Association
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-24-2012, 08:56 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 21
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Sorry for language! But well the measure's I took be efficient
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-24-2012, 09:25 AM
Frisco's Avatar
Glad To Be Here
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canton, North Carolina
Age: 72
Posts: 2,244
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by compajosh
Sorry for language! But well the measure's I took be efficient
Putting RTV in the hole will not allow the loctite you put on the bolt threads to work. The loctite will not be needed. Just use the RTV.

NOTE: When using any of the various grades of Loctite, the threads, both internal and external need to be completely clean and oil free for the Loctite to work. Do not use the red (permanent) Loctite on any bolts or studs that will require to be removed often. If you have used any grade of Loctite and are having difficulty removing the components, apply heat. It will soften the Loctite so that it can be removed.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-24-2012, 09:31 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 21
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks! So I shouldn't have any water leaks there?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-24-2012, 09:41 AM
Frisco's Avatar
Glad To Be Here
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canton, North Carolina
Age: 72
Posts: 2,244
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by compajosh
Thanks! So I shouldn't have any water leaks there?
Clean the threads on the bolt and in the tapped hole first. Apply the RTV to the threads on the bolt. Install and tighten. Allow enough time for the RTV to set up. Shouldn't leak or loosen.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-24-2012, 09:47 AM
blwn31's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Placerville,CA
Posts: 170
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
If you want the best RTV for engine work, get Permatex The Right Stuff.

Keith
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-24-2012, 09:50 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: At Speed
Age: 51
Posts: 1,363
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 34 Times in 32 Posts
75 Ft-lbs?
Those are 3/8 NC bolts and even if upgraded to Grade 8, I wouldnt torque them past 35.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 04-24-2012, 09:56 AM
Irelands child's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Ford engine specifications Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 4,917
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 15
Thanked 207 Times in 187 Posts
Another fix would have been to use a stud instead of a bolt and then using a good liquid Teflon sealer instead of that RTV. This way would 'permanently' have sealed the hole and if you had to remove that bracket, you wouldn't end up draining the cooling system.
__________________
Irelands child
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 04-24-2012, 10:19 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 21
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks guys! Oh and the rtv silicone was permatex ultra gray high torque
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 04-24-2012, 01:46 PM
F-BIRD'88's Avatar
Yada Yada Yada
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,153
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 5
Thanked 380 Times in 374 Posts
Thats a lot of torque on such a small bolt.
Don;t know where you got that torque spec.
You do not need to torque the **** out of motor mount bolts.
Just tighten them up with a ratchet by hand.
Way too much torque.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 04-24-2012, 04:33 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 21
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have a Haynes book for a 73 impala, the actual motor mounts on frame are at 50 ftp and the mounts to block are at 75ftp. was justb tringto follow the book torque spec as i put on new parts. Who knows?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 04-25-2012, 10:17 PM
igota66
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 19
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm inclined to agree with Ireland's child use a well sealed stud
as for the the toque setting you quoted "way to much" just tighten it with a ratchet like one of the previous replies said
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crack in Water Jacket?? solidaxel Engine 9 08-27-2008 10:45 AM
Water Jacket Penitrating Studs RexRat Engine 3 09-22-2007 04:28 AM
409 Block with a cracked Water Jacket 62ImpalaSS Engine 1 04-20-2006 12:15 PM
Cracked water jacket ap0001 Engine 7 07-29-2005 03:12 PM
Water Jacket Daved Engine 4 07-23-2003 08:32 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.