drilling holes in frame for the T-400 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-30-2012, 02:05 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NorthRichlandHills, TX
Posts: 473
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 133
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
drilling holes in frame for the T-400

Alright the TH200C is out and the TH400 is in. Time to drill holes for the crossmember. Im curious, do I need to just align the new holes with the old ones only a couple inches back? Or do they need to be slightly lower as well? So glad the search ended for a yoke! Turns out a bolt in yoke with straps was real hard to find. Now the driveshaft mission begins.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-30-2012, 02:36 PM
BOBCRMAN@aol.com's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Holly, michigan
Posts: 8,136
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 25
Thanked 271 Times in 253 Posts
" a bolt in yoke with straps was real hard to find"

Probably one of the most common 400 yokes. Also not really usable, as is, with a rear wheel drive auto.

Yoke has to slide in and out of trans as rear suspension works. Bolt on does not. The hole can be welded up. But the yoke is not really long enuf in the splines to get proper engagement. Be very careful on measurements.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-31-2012, 09:54 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NorthRichlandHills, TX
Posts: 473
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 133
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
The Corvette style stationary yoke is easy to find, mine is not. Denny's is the only place to get one and they are on back order, they have also been discontinued so theres only a few left. Also, the washer for it has been discontinued and not even the dealer can get it. Ive got the bolt in the mail but still searching for the washer..

I'm adding a slip and spline onto my driveshaft.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-31-2012, 01:37 PM
BOBCRMAN@aol.com's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Holly, michigan
Posts: 8,136
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 25
Thanked 271 Times in 253 Posts
What you have is the truck yoke. I've thrown dozens of them away. Really no practical use in automotive. Spline and slip yoke driveshaft is not cool in automotive use. Heavy, hard to balance, subject to wear/slop vibration.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-31-2012, 11:39 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NorthRichlandHills, TX
Posts: 473
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 133
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
So what, do I need to install a 2 peice driveshaft with a carrier bearing? that sounds like a lot of bull****? The yoke slides almost all the way in but i've heard bad things about using a bolt in as a slip yoke on long bed trucks?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-01-2012, 03:59 AM
123pugsy's Avatar
HOT ROD...... FROM A CHRYSLER?
 
Last wiki edit: Metal shaping
Last journal entry: FLOOR BEADS
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Markham,ON
Age: 52
Posts: 2,388
Wiki Edits: 29

Thanks: 449
Thanked 269 Times in 233 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0trbo4myCHEVUICK View Post
So what, do I need to install a 2 peice driveshaft with a carrier bearing? that sounds like a lot of bull****? The yoke slides almost all the way in but i've heard bad things about using a bolt in as a slip yoke on long bed trucks?
Bolt ins are used with the 2 piece driveshaft.
Denny's has the slip yoke for using with the one piece shaft.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-03-2012, 12:44 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NorthRichlandHills, TX
Posts: 473
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 133
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Alright well suprise surpise, You guys are right.. The slip and spline style driveshaft is only good for about 60 inches. Im needing about 72 inches. I know this topic has been discussed several times over the net, and I dont mean to beat a dead horse. Im just looking for application specific advice because most the threads i see are about installing a truck style TH400 into a car.

My 1982 Chevy c10 long bed has a Buick 3.8l V6 and I just installed the TH400 with threaded output shaft. I already bought the bolt in yoke. I'm looking to get the 1piece shortened, weld a frost plug onto the bolt in yoke, and use it as a slip in.

How much spline engagement do I need?
How much room to allow for slip on the transmission side? I really really do not want to slam this yoke into my Th400.
If the yoke bottoms out at 3", How far do I need to slip it in to measure my drive shaft length?

My shaft sticks out 1/2" from the 4" housing.

The 1350 yoke is 5 1/2" end to end with 3 3/4" of spline and 3/8" of spline missing on the front end. There is also 1 spline missing.

The yoke slides in 2 3/4" then seems to kind of seat into a groove which puts it in almost 3"

when the yoke is bottomed out i can only see about 1/4" of yoke left.

Please let me know if anyone needs more information..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-03-2012, 01:19 PM
123pugsy's Avatar
HOT ROD...... FROM A CHRYSLER?
 
Last wiki edit: Metal shaping
Last journal entry: FLOOR BEADS
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Markham,ON
Age: 52
Posts: 2,388
Wiki Edits: 29

Thanks: 449
Thanked 269 Times in 233 Posts
You need a yoke from Denny's to use slide in on a TH400 bolt on output shaft.


Or try these guys:

GM driveshaft yokes, transmission yokes

You got to call for pricing.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-03-2012, 01:47 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NorthRichlandHills, TX
Posts: 473
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 133
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
From what i understand i can just weld a freeze plug to the end of my bolt on yoke and that makes it a slip yoke
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-03-2012, 01:49 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NorthRichlandHills, TX
Posts: 473
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 133
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
the 3/8" of spline missing is a counter bore to allow for use as a slip in yoke right? So it doesent f the o-ring up?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 08-03-2012, 02:58 PM
123pugsy's Avatar
HOT ROD...... FROM A CHRYSLER?
 
Last wiki edit: Metal shaping
Last journal entry: FLOOR BEADS
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Markham,ON
Age: 52
Posts: 2,388
Wiki Edits: 29

Thanks: 449
Thanked 269 Times in 233 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0trbo4myCHEVUICK View Post
the 3/8" of spline missing is a counter bore to allow for use as a slip in yoke right? So it doesent f the o-ring up?
You need about 3/4" for sliding. 3/8 missing spline is enough for a bolt tight application only.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 08-03-2012, 03:39 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NorthRichlandHills, TX
Posts: 473
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 133
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
ok so slide the yoke all the way in, then back off 3/4", then measure drive shaft length? How much more than 3/8 of spline do i need to machine off?

Last edited by 0trbo4myCHEVUICK; 08-03-2012 at 03:44 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 08-03-2012, 03:58 PM
123pugsy's Avatar
HOT ROD...... FROM A CHRYSLER?
 
Last wiki edit: Metal shaping
Last journal entry: FLOOR BEADS
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Markham,ON
Age: 52
Posts: 2,388
Wiki Edits: 29

Thanks: 449
Thanked 269 Times in 233 Posts
Not sure. I haven't looked at a yoke or output shaft lately.

I hope you got a good chuck for your lathe.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 08-03-2012, 04:32 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NorthRichlandHills, TX
Posts: 473
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 133
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Im just wondering what the differences are between the denny's conversion yoke( Denny's Driveshaft #SY10-32-CB ) and my bolt in yoke, i know my bolt in yoke has straps for the u joint and is hollow to allow for the bolt and washer. Once i weld that hole shut, what makes it different from a slip yoke? The spline length? Ive got 3 3/4" of spline on this yoke.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 08-03-2012, 08:30 PM
BOBCRMAN@aol.com's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Holly, michigan
Posts: 8,136
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 25
Thanked 271 Times in 253 Posts
Check my answer to your other post. The push in then pull out 3/4 to an inch is rule for the proper spline yoke combo. Which you haven't got.

If I had to do this job= Find out total rear suspension travel..then, ride height.. When/where the length dimension from the rear end yoke to the trans is shortest/longest.

Use the shortest dimension, pull yoke out 3/8". Thats your length. This will geve you maximum spline/bushing contact and not bottom out yoke internally..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
drilling 2 holes in a bracket matt167 Hotrodding Basics 4 11-21-2011 09:50 AM
drilling holes without chipping paint gto_ron Body - Exterior 18 04-23-2010 07:38 AM
Drilling holes for accessory mountings-- can it be done? schnitz Engine 11 07-01-2008 07:27 PM
Drilling some holes in a rear end housing? Javelin69 Transmission - Rearend 7 05-11-2008 08:49 PM
drilling head bolt holes? firechicken383 Engine 1 06-07-2005 08:10 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.