Drive by wire - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2005, 04:03 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: usa
Age: 67
Posts: 2
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Angry Drive by wire

Hi All: I have a '61 corvair pu. The throttle sucks,is to stiff or won't let eng idle.How would I install a drive by wire system? Thanks in advance.Justin. Yes I put a new cable on it

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2005, 04:43 PM
willys36@aol.com's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: How to rebuild a Rochester Quadrajet 4MV carbureto...
Last journal entry: How to change auto shift timing on 200R4
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 8,384
Wiki Edits: 21

Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Welcome. Being new to the site, you need to be sure to read the "Read Me' posts at the beginning of each forum. The ones here for example recommend that you just post a general introduction here and post tech questions in the appropriate tech forum. This will give you the best chance for a good answer.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2005, 05:54 PM
poncho62's Avatar
Out of the Loop Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Age: 62
Posts: 16,857
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 20
Thanked 246 Times in 200 Posts
Moving to engine forum............
__________________
Ontario Rodders
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2005, 09:21 PM
4 Jaw Chuck's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Age: 46
Posts: 4,903
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 73 Times in 61 Posts
Try a hydraulic throttle from Jegs.
__________________
Outlawed tunes from outlawed pipes
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2005, 07:50 AM
RCastle's Avatar
Come Home Safe Soldier
 

Last journal entry: Headers
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Louisville,Kentucky
Age: 43
Posts: 848
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Drive by wire is a term used for cars that have no mechanical linkage. The C5 Vette was one of the first production cars to run this set up. You will need an ECM controlled engine. The engine is controlled as far as RPM by a throttle positioning sensor under the throttle pedal itself,and sends a message to the ECM. The ECM than sends that signal to the fuel injection,spark system,etc.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2005, 08:59 AM
NXS's Avatar
NXS NXS is offline
wind & fire = guides to power
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,534
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I have seen servos for remote control cars that could work, but it best be right!
Uh, i'm sorry ociffer, i was 90 in a 30 b/c i drive by remote control!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2005, 11:39 AM
cboy's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Finished
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atwater, CA
Age: 69
Posts: 3,915
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Is it actually binding at somewhere in the linkage/cable or is it binding at the carb itself? Have you been able to identify exactly where along the line the thing is hanging up?
__________________
Always learning...and sharing what I've learned. The Scratch-Built Hot Rod.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2005, 12:45 PM
rick458's Avatar
Wookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: La Porte Texas
Age: 50
Posts: 244
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It would seem to me, to be Much easier to replace the gas pedal assembly, and run the new cable with fewer angles, than try to electrically drive a non EFI engine.
__________________
Rich

77 Impala
74 260Z (a Work in SLOW Progress)
69 Big Block Chevelle (long gone)
Semper Fi My Brothers
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2005, 02:26 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: usa
Age: 67
Posts: 2
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Drive by wire

Thanks 4 the replys. Gentlemen. There seems 2 b a lot of misunderstanding about drive by wire. ECMS,Tbi,etc r not neccessary 4 this.All that is required is accel pedal with a potentiometer and a servo motor to operate any type of movement being carb, tbi, anything you want to be remote operated. Justin. Master tech Cert 35yrs my own shop. I don't know the parts to use.Thanks again
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2005, 04:04 PM
NXS's Avatar
NXS NXS is offline
wind & fire = guides to power
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,534
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Yes, i'm sure with some trial and error a TPS off a junk tbi and the right servo it can be done. just make sure all is 100% correct!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2005, 07:45 PM
4 Jaw Chuck's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Age: 46
Posts: 4,903
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 73 Times in 61 Posts
The problem with an electric throttle control is that there is always a load on the servo because of the return spring pressure. The only reason why manufacturers use them is to interface the computer inbetween the human and the engine to overide the human when necessary.

What is wrong with hydraulic? There are many manufacturers of these type of throttle controls on the market? I once used one to syncronize two 350HP diesel electric gensets on an old locomotive, worked like a charm and was the only inexpensive way to actuate two throttles simultanously. Sure beats tuning two cables to get the same effect.

Mico hydraulic throttle control systems PDF.

If you must have an electric then try Williams Controls. They are the leader in offroad electronic throttle control systems.
__________________
Outlawed tunes from outlawed pipes
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.