Drive by wire - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2006, 02:40 PM
Animal's Avatar
Dominators Hot Rod Club
 

Last journal entry: On the run
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Holliston, MA
Age: 68
Posts: 93
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Drive by wire

This could be an engine question also.

I'm building a rod from scratch with the engine in the back. Running an accelerator cable around to the back and around and over the motor is cumbersome and may be prone to sticking.

Has anyone set up a drive by wire, using a servo to work the carburetor?

Animal

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2006, 03:01 PM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Mopar tapered axle rear brake conversion
Last journal entry: What I'm doing now...
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 4,267
Wiki Edits: 49

Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Check with your local Dodge dealer. I'm not sure about all the Dodge trucks but I do know the Hemis use a "drive by wire" setup on their throttle.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2006, 03:34 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,837
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Just about all the new cars use it. Our 04 Tahoe has it, no throttle cable at all. You would however need the computer that runs everything else on the car to make it work though.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2006, 03:42 PM
Jake_Dragon's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: New Carb
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida
Age: 49
Posts: 771
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
The Fiero has the engine in the back and I have had 5 of them and never had a problem with a long cable.
My latest one is powered by a SBC with a carb setup.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2006, 04:23 PM
Animal's Avatar
Dominators Hot Rod Club
 

Last journal entry: On the run
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Holliston, MA
Age: 68
Posts: 93
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Drive by wire

I am running with a carb to avoid a computer. I've seen cars driven by remote control, including throttle, on Myth Busters and Monster Garage.

Then there are all those RC toys running around.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2006, 05:04 PM
vicrod's Avatar
life is a ride
 

Last journal entry: 2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Telford, PA
Age: 71
Posts: 1,307
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts
Too complicated. Too specialized. Safety issues. Engineering issues. No kits available. Not adaptable.

Don't forget KISS.

Try this.

Hydraulic clutch set-up adapted to throttle control.

Just a little fabrication and ................spank-the-street

vicrod
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2006, 05:13 PM
Member
 
Last wiki edit: Ford axle ratio codes
Last journal entry: Rear Suspension
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Prattsville
Posts: 6,352
Wiki Edits: 31

Thanks: 2
Thanked 53 Times in 49 Posts
what about using a single master cylinder hooked to a small brake line ( 3/16" ) that goes to a small hydraulic ram cylinder of some sort, that is bolted to carb linkage, hydraulic force, run the lines under the car, the pedal won't stiffen up if you get the linkage the right length, but even if it did, by that point you'v got it & WOT anyway. you could probably modify a wheel cylinder by closing off 1 side somehow.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2006, 05:29 PM
Animal's Avatar
Dominators Hot Rod Club
 

Last journal entry: On the run
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Holliston, MA
Age: 68
Posts: 93
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Drive by wire

Great ideas all.

The KISS rule is always first choice. But I'm concerned about the lenght of cable and the number of sharp turns, especially out through the firewall where the cable will have to turn a 90 in about 1 1/2 inches.

The hydraulic option is possible, but will it respond quick enough, especially when getting out of it?

Animal
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2006, 05:36 PM
Member
 
Last wiki edit: Ford axle ratio codes
Last journal entry: Rear Suspension
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Prattsville
Posts: 6,352
Wiki Edits: 31

Thanks: 2
Thanked 53 Times in 49 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Animal
Great ideas all.

The KISS rule is always first choice. But I'm concerned about the lenght of cable and the number of sharp turns, especially out through the firewall where the cable will have to turn a 90 in about 1 1/2 inches.

The hydraulic option is possible, but will it respond quick enough, especially when getting out of it?

Animal
you might need to fiddle with return spring tensions but it should go back just as quick as a cable.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2006, 05:37 PM
vicrod's Avatar
life is a ride
 

Last journal entry: 2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Telford, PA
Age: 71
Posts: 1,307
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts
Hydraulic is a mechanical connection.
If you used plastic tubing you might get a little "inflation lag".
Go with 3/16" copper tubing.

vicrod
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2006, 05:44 PM
steve t's Avatar
ex biker, now hotrodder
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NC
Age: 64
Posts: 863
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
all go karts have motor in back, an top fuel cars
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2006, 06:49 PM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Doc here,

If Cost is NOT an Issue, Litton Microwave made Auto Throttle (servo activated throttles) Systems for the Boeing 757/67 projects, for total automated ILS landing systems..The FAA bounced it..Didn't like the idea of a robot landing a jumbo jet..

Anyway these may be out there somewhere surplus , I'm for sure Litton Does not make them anymore..If you do find one, even surplus..expect prices to start at the high 4 digit $$ range and go up from there...

Have you Considered the possibility of a VW or Porsche throttle system? Something you could run under the car to the rear? If you have enough Cable length, It may work..

You didn't say what kind of car this was, is it to be a street driver, Strip?

Years ago ( about 35, to be exact ) The rear engine Dragsters used to use an "In and Out " hydro..

When you dropped the trans into gear, it went to WOT until you went back to neutral..

The NHRA outlawed it back then, when a Funny Car went WOT into the stands while attempting to enter the Staging line at Fremont Raceway.

Low budget, low tech, safe approach would be to adapt a rear engine car throttle system to your application..Maybe even look into what big trucks (semi's ) are using..

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2006, 09:33 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: ohio
Age: 66
Posts: 584
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 31 Times in 28 Posts
Years ago we had a rear engine dragster with an Eelco Hydraulic throttle on it, it never was a problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2006, 01:05 AM
Da Hellion's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 17
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
cable

I agree with the kISS concept I think a cable would be fine if routed correctly avoid sharp bends and make sure where the cable hooks to the carb it's nice and level.Put extra brackets to hold the cable housing still .Keep tweaking it until it is smooth as possible. The most important thing is the return spring . With the longer cable you will probley need a heavier spring but if it's to strong it will be jumpy as you first accelerate
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2006, 02:12 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 4
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
allthough the suggestion or reference to rc models was made you will find that none of these types of servos will have the pulldown strength you need to over come a carb and returns and what not now a hyd throttle has been mentioned several times i would suggest you search neal brakes on the net they have an perfect working hyd throttle set up i have been running this in my rear engined street legal sandrail for many years with no problems the cable method is still the best my daughters rear engined sandrail uses a 15' long teflon lined cable from a company called cablecraft thing works smooth as silk

regards 2088bob

Last edited by 2088bob; 02-05-2006 at 02:18 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new welding wire oldred Body - Exterior 93 05-07-2009 04:40 PM
1 wire alternators.... Crazy Mopar Guy Electrical 36 04-09-2006 06:37 PM
1986 Cutlass wiring Q's again :( ChrisMiddleron Electrical 12 07-16-2005 04:22 PM
one wire / three wire, alternator hookup 65truck Electrical 1 10-24-2003 03:59 AM
85 s-10 distributor wiring question strracer7 Electrical 1 09-29-2003 03:39 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.