Hot Rod Forum banner

DTM primer questions

25K views 37 replies 11 participants last post by  deadbodyman 
#1 ·
I have been painting for almost 12 years so I am relatively still inexperienced and I have noticed a lot of suppliers really pushing the use of epoxy primers after blasting, stripping or any use over bare metal. My question is why go to the extra steps of using the epoxy when there are several reputable DTM 2k and high build primers available? If using the steps recommended by some manufacturers you would need 3 or 4 different primers for every job. Epoxy, high build, 2k, and 2k sealer. I remember the days of etching primer and glass jars for all over bare metal and I could see using the epoxy or etching for those jobs, but is it really beneficial for small collision type repairs? I am not arguing the use of epoxy, just wondering why create an additional step and more expense and supplies instead a DTM 2k or high build? I guess the short version of this question is why epoxy and not DTM 2k?

#3 ·
Cars come with epoxy primer underneath finish/paint and most auto body shops should restore it to pre-collision condition and that's where epoxy comes into play. Realistically speaking most people won't own their cars 10-20 years from now but top end body shops still have to make sure they put out a good quality paint job. Usually a decent body shop will warranty their work for lifetime of the car, so they wouldn't want you coming back with rust, peeling, etc issues

#5 ·