DTM primer questions - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-25-2012, 05:58 PM
Automotive Extraordinaire

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

DTM primer questions

I have been painting for almost 12 years so I am relatively still inexperienced and I have noticed a lot of suppliers really pushing the use of epoxy primers after blasting, stripping or any use over bare metal. My question is why go to the extra steps of using the epoxy when there are several reputable DTM 2k and high build primers available? If using the steps recommended by some manufacturers you would need 3 or 4 different primers for every job. Epoxy, high build, 2k, and 2k sealer. I remember the days of etching primer and glass jars for all over bare metal and I could see using the epoxy or etching for those jobs, but is it really beneficial for small collision type repairs? I am not arguing the use of epoxy, just wondering why create an additional step and more expense and supplies instead a DTM 2k or high build? I guess the short version of this question is why epoxy and not DTM 2k?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-25-2012, 11:06 PM
put up or shut up

Last journal entry: saying goodbye to the beast
Last photo:

Quote:
Originally Posted by carolinacustoms View Post