Hot Rod Forum banner

dual brake master cylinder info

1K views 7 replies 4 participants last post by  gerry rautenbach 
#1 ·
i got a dual master cylinder and want to fit it to a 64 buick .i have allready fitted disc brakes (it originally had drums) the cylinder i have has a small reservoir and a bigger one. also the fittings for the pipes are different.does the bigger one of the reservoirs go to the back or front?

#2 ·
The larger reservoir feeds the FRONT brakes. Use 3/16" lines for the front, 1/4" for the back. I assume you have a proportioning valve?

Note that GM used non-standard threads on some of the flare nuts to prevent incorrect connections on the assembly line. You can buy adapters or these special flare nuts at auto part stores like NAPA and Auto Zone. Don't expect the kid behind the counter to have any idea what you are talking about. You'll need to go through the drawers of fittings in the back of the store yourself.

#3 ·
master cylinder info

thanks for info .the larger reservoir is located furthest from the mounting onto the booster ? so when you depress the pedal the rear piston will actually work first? i will have to connect a proportioning valve or the block that connects all the pipes .(front and rear) as i live in good ol' south africa i will have a problem with the fittings as over here everything is METRIC and we do have problems finding Imp. fittings

#4 ·
thanks for info .the larger reservoir is located furthest from the mounting onto the booster ? so when you depress the pedal the rear piston will actually work first?
This is a hydraulic system. Brake fluid between the two pistons equalizes the pressure in both simultaneously. This is how hundreds of millions of cars currently on the road are built.