Dumb newbie here is this a holley 600? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-29-2011, 11:38 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Dumb newbie here is this a holley 600?

Hey guys! thanx for checkin in on my thread. I recently purchased a 46 pickup. The previous owner told me the carb is a 600 but for the life od me I cannot find any ID number on it. Did Holley have ID numbers on their carbs. I would like to switch the fuel line over to braided steel but would like to know size of carb first. I've included some pics of the truck and the carb. Check out the way the knuckle head has the rubber fuel line running up over the alternator. Thats why I want to switch over to braided steel line it just looks like an accident waiting to happen.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-29-2011, 11:43 AM

Last photo:

And furthermore when I change over to braided steel will that brass fitting just back right out of the carb body so I can replace with a AN fitting? Or is there something I am missing? Oh, and don't mind the fluid laying all over the top of the engine. The knuckle head also ran the engine without a PCV valve.
Old 01-29-2011, 12:29 PM

Last wiki edit: Ford engine specifications Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 8

Right front side of the air horn (as you sit in the driver's seat) is where Holley usually stamps in a set of number. Pull the air cleaner and you should be able to find it.
Old 01-29-2011, 01:07 PM

Last photo:

Ok this is the number I found on the front, but I needed a damn microscope to read it. 18509 and then directly under it 0778
Old 01-29-2011, 01:11 PM
Out of the Loop Moderator

Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show