Early GM column shifter & 700r4 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-16-2002, 03:04 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 12
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post Early GM column shifter & 700r4

Hi:

I am new to this site so I'll apologize now if this question has been asked before. I have a GM column with auto shifter that will be installed in my 56 pickup. It came from a vehicle that had a 350 trany which is what I was going to use. However, I have decided to install a 700r4 instead. So my question is will the shifter on the column have enough have enough movement to shift the 700r4 through all the gears? It seems like it should, but I was hoping someone would there could provide the answer without me doing the ole trail and error thing that I'm so accustom to.

Thanks,
Rick

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-16-2002, 06:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 76
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

try these guys:

bowtie overdrives

<a href="http://www.700r4.com/getpart.asp?cat=Automatic%20Transmission%20Shifter s&id=266" target="_blank">http://www.700r4.com/getpart.asp?cat=Automatic%20Transmission%20Shifter s&id=266</a>

I think that's the shifter you need, but if it isn't they'll steer ya to the right one.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2002, 02:56 AM
awsum34's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Overland Park Ks
Age: 65
Posts: 369
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

Your column will work, Only thing you'll have to change is the shift indicator. You'll need one with a overdrive on it. There's alot of street rod shops that sell them. they have screw on's, glue on's.
There's no differance in the play with the shifter. Just you indicator does not line up.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.