Ecu? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2009, 08:48 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lindsay Ont
Posts: 21
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ecu?

Hello there I have an 86 monte carlo ss and I was looking for the ECU but it does not have one should it have one? I have had the car for 2+ years now and it seems to run fine. with this being a carb motor do I really need one and why would the last owner have taken it out. any suggestions would help. thanks Eric

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2009, 10:33 AM
richard stewart 3rd's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: 351W rebuild
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: tremont, pa.
Age: 69
Posts: 2,217
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 13
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Hi,
Your car should have an ecm, you have a feedback carb or at least that's what it came with new,
I can't remember if the dist is ecm controlled or not.
Rich
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2009, 10:40 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lindsay Ont
Posts: 21
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ecu

thks the carb is a Rochester 650 i believe I cant see any electric hooks on the carb except for the choke should there be if it needs a ecu?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2009, 07:08 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SW Wisconsin
Posts: 8
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastcarsca
thks the carb is a Rochester 650 i believe I cant see any electric hooks on the carb except for the choke should there be if it needs a ecu?
You got a slightly different mix of emissions stuff in Canada, my experience is with US-spec stuff so YMMV
If it was stock it would probably have a big solenoid parked down in the front of the quadrajet running the mix on your primaries, and those carbs need TLC to run without the ECU.
A stock dizzy will have two spark-modification wires coming out of the body and heading into the firewall, a non-computer HEI is a drop-in and only uses the 12V hot plus a tach wire, if equipped.
I had a Malibu of that era, I just abandoned the ECU in-place, IIRC it's mounted somewhere on the passenger side kick panel or firewall
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2009, 08:20 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 88
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ECU should have been under pass dash, most were removed due to they where crap and a normal carb and dis were installed.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-18-2009, 07:20 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lindsay Ont
Posts: 21
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ecu

thanks for the input ya its a HEI dis,
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I eliminate the ECU from the engine completely now? 5_speed Electrical 10 01-18-2009 10:30 AM
Chevy ECU Sir Joab Engine 2 01-24-2007 04:03 PM
MSD offroad-6, MSD 8366 Distributor, Holley 950 ECU izord Electrical 0 09-06-2004 02:16 PM
ECU wiring 5.7 L TBI carloss Electrical 11 10-06-2003 04:45 PM
Megasquirt ECU TurboS10 Engine 11 09-26-2003 07:15 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.