Edelbrock Performer / Holley Question - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2003, 09:00 PM
western star's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: BC
Posts: 304
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Edelbrock Performer / Holley Question

I have a Performer for a sbc. The secondarys on the intake are larger then the primarys. I guess you would call it a spread bore. I want to install a 670 Holley Avenger to it. The Holley I believe is a square bore. Do I have to use an adapter and if I don't.....what happens?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2003, 09:23 AM
Tazz
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: amherst,ohio
Age: 66
Posts: 2,049
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Edelbrock to Holley change

I think it depends on your intake, some are setup for both carb bases. If you end up using an adapter plate be careful not to drop a carb mounting bolt down into the intake, be very careful. Put nuts on the bolts sticking up out of the base before trying to install the base.


Todd


Rat Rods Rule!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2003, 01:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 188
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Performer intake

Its possible to just put gaskets on the performer and get by but to play it safe and avoid vacuum leaks : there is a bout a quarter inch thick plate that you should put on this intake.It is metal and it doesnt come in the manifold box,and the guys here at the aut o-parts didnt even know what I was talking about. I found 1 at Oriellys $ 7 , believe it was a Holley product .
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-05-2003, 06:15 PM
bullheimer's Avatar
NEVER use credit cards!
 

Last journal entry: car with tt2's, (stockers going back on)
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: North of Seattle
Posts: 2,532
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
i asked the same question at a pontiac site and pretty much got told i could put the square bore right on it since it's drilled for those mounting holes. that 1/4 plate doesnt sound like a bad idea tho. i have used adapter plates the other way around and the mr. gasket one was a p.o.s. it wouldnt allow the butterflys to open all the way until i ground the dog-poo out of the openings. if you put the carb on the intake just check to make sure it can open up to wot all the way by pushing them open with pencil or something before you put it on the car
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2003, 12:56 AM
lluciano77's Avatar
Short changed on common sense
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: california
Age: 37
Posts: 3,548
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Edelbrock makes a 1/8" thick plate for eliminating the vacuum leaks which are common when bolting a squarebore carb on a spreadbore manifold.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2003, 11:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 188
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thats the one ;thin metal, open plenum, eliminates chance of vacuum leak and its cheap. Not an aluminum adapter, no nuts and bolts to fall in because it just slides over existing studs on intake. What gets me is they dont come with the new intakes and they dont mention anything about using on intake. On intakes Ive used there is only about 1 -16th seal on back bottom of carb and intake if your lucky.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2003, 12:56 AM
western star's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: BC
Posts: 304
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I've been told to use the thick (3/16th) gasket with the gromets in it and it works just fine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Hotrodding Basics posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.