edelbrock secondary - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-17-2002, 10:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 58
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post edelbrock secondary

I recently installed an Edelbrock performer on a stock 350. I can't get the secondaries to open and there isn't any real adjustment on it that I can find to get them to open sooner. Any suggestions?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-17-2002, 10:28 AM
TurboS10's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Auto Terms and Definitions Used in Modern Engine T... Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Texas
Age: 36
Posts: 3,463
Wiki Edits: 2

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

From what I remember on the edelbrock I had and hated before I went to Holley, The secondaries will only open when the engine is under load and at full throttle. The are vacuum operated with a counter wieght to keep them closed untill needed. I never was able to tune it where there was no hesitation. I think this is due to them actually opening to soon, and a lack of accelerator pump volume.

Go to a Holley. They are much more tunable. The edelbrocks work fine on a streeter. I just like things very crisp, and the afb will not do it.

chris
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-17-2002, 11:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 58
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

This carb has a mechanical secondary system. I don't think there is enough throttle play to open the secondaries. I'm thinking that if I bend the accuating rod a bit, they will pull open sooner. Any thoughts??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-17-2002, 12:27 PM
BstMech's Avatar
NYOFP4RJ3CHRIS
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: TN. In the corporate states of America
Age: 41
Posts: 1,552
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Post

Don't do it, It's not gonna help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-17-2002, 12:49 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 21
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

Secondary throtle plates are mechanical but there is air valve above the boosters so it is vacuum system.
or its something i never seen before
i havent found a good way to tune that air valve, drilling material away from counter weights is one possibility but its difficult to get back if you remove too much.
it is possible to hang it open and it did work at my engine, but not every engine of course.Well i didnt notice any difference at power anyway so i did return
to vacuum operated.(or is it flow operated?)
After i read your second topic second time, secondary
throttle plates should open when full throttle. is that carb new? primaries open full? it is progressive system so if you get 2/3 open it wont much move secondaries but after that they should get fully open.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-17-2002, 05:19 PM
TurboS10's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Auto Terms and Definitions Used in Modern Engine T... Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Texas
Age: 36
Posts: 3,463
Wiki Edits: 2

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

[quote]Originally posted by ron2424:
<strong>This carb has a mechanical secondary system. I don't think there is enough throttle play to open the secondaries. I'm thinking that if I bend the accuating rod a bit, they will pull open sooner. Any thoughts??</strong><hr></blockquote>

That is just to insure they dont open too early, they are still vacuum operated.

Chris
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-17-2002, 06:48 PM
drgnwgn289's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: lubbock TX
Posts: 313
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

Does it have an electric choke? If so, the secondaries will not open unless the choke is off. You can fix this by putting a little blob of silver solder on the right place, work the carb a few times by hand and you will see what I mean.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.