elec fuel pump wiring - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-18-2008, 06:53 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 1,091
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
elec fuel pump wiring

I have 2 questions that I would like opinions on. Is there much of an advantage to having a toggle to shut off supply to an elec fuel pump? And is it better to have the bat wire that goes to the relay wired with a circuit breaker or a fuse?
thanks

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-18-2008, 07:12 AM
pepi's Avatar
How’s that hopey-changey thing
 
Last wiki edit: Determining top dead center
Last journal entry: Quicky frame dolly
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Georgia ... USA
Posts: 1,835
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by yragat
I have 2 questions that I would like opinions on.


1 Is there much of an advantage to having a toggle to shut off supply to an elec fuel pump?


2 And is it better to have the bat wire that goes to the relay wired with a circuit breaker or a fuse?


thanks
1 That is your call, for convenience and auto on I would say do not use a toggle sw. but on the other hand a separate switch adds to the dash. I prefer a separate toggle switch in the dash and wired one like that for my hotrod... So if you like switches in the dash I so go for it, the only down side one could forget to turn on the fuel before firing the motor. No big deal...

2 Which is better, well the advantage of a circuit breaker is the reset feature and the down side of a fuse is of course, it must be replaced. Either will work just fine, both will do the same job of protecting the wiring
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-18-2008, 08:08 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Liverpool, NY
Age: 37
Posts: 26
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I would say the advantage of having a toggle would be that you can shut it off if you do not want it to run. The disadvantage of using the toggle would be that you could forget it.

Circuit breaker or fuse.....that is user preference and could be debated over and over I think. You can get circuit breakers in auto reset or manual reset....

Good luck with your fuel pump install!!

Ryan
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-18-2008, 10:18 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 1,091
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks,Guys
very informative!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-18-2008, 11:11 AM
47 Coupe's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Fort Worth,Texas
Age: 68
Posts: 104
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You could always feed the toggle sw. from the run side of your ign. sw. That way you wouldn't leave it running after shutting off the ign. But you could override the ign by shutting the pump off with the toggle. A oil pressure sw. would be a good safety feature to add.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-18-2008, 12:44 PM
texastomeh's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 276
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 8
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
I also installed an "inertia switch" in the feed circuit after the manual reset breaker. This is in case of a collision - it opens/interrupts the voltage to the pump. This switch requires a manual reset also.

HOPEFULLY, will never need it!!!!

Good luck!!

texastomeh
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-18-2008, 03:57 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 1,091
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
where did U get the inertia switch? I see Ron Francis sell one,but $$$$$. The relay kit I bought has the self reset,I don't know if I like that feature. Where do U get the manual type?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-18-2008, 04:29 PM
Bryan59EC's Avatar
Car? Truck? Who Cares
 

Last journal entry: First week of December
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Age: 54
Posts: 2,350
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Go to a junkyard and pull an inertia switch from the trunk of any ford product.

T-Bird, Cougar, Taurus----I know these are in the trunk

I have mine wired thru a relay (ignition switch controlled)at the fusebox with the ground side of the relay controlled by hidden switch for "unauthorized use" prevention.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 05-18-2008, 05:07 PM
texastomeh's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 276
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 8
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Bryan59EC is right!

If you don't have access to or want to scrounge through the JY, look on eBay.

Good luck!

texastomeh
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 05-20-2008, 09:00 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 1,091
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Do U wire the inertia switch into the large wire from the batt to the relay,or into the smaller wire that activates the relay from the ignition?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 05-20-2008, 12:32 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sterling Heights, Michigan
Posts: 242
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You wire the switch into the smaller wire controlling the relay. Those switchs are not made to carry heavy current loads, just the control voltage to the relay. Tom F.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 05-20-2008, 02:55 PM
texastomeh's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 276
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 8
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaguarxk120
You wire the switch into the smaller wire controlling the relay. Those switchs are not made to carry heavy current loads, just the control voltage to the relay. Tom F.
AGREE!!

Interestingly (at least to me!), the one that I bought on eBay for my '53 Vette replica, came off a JAGUAR!!

texastomeh
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 05-20-2008, 03:00 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 1,091
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Do U think it would be OK to mount it inside on the firewall,or where would be the best place to mount it? Do they only have 2 wires to splice into the hot wire,or is it more complicated than that?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 05-20-2008, 03:43 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sterling Heights, Michigan
Posts: 242
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Sometimes they will have three wires. I have two, a Ford and one from a Jaguar. They both have three wire's. It is a single pole double throw switch. When the switch is tripped it will give a trouble light as the control voltage is routed to a light. If you want to get fancy then wire a small light to show the switch being tripped. The Ford was mounted in the trunk and the Jaguar was mounted drivers side foot box up out of the way. TF
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 05-20-2008, 05:58 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 1,091
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
OK,I think I'll grt one off e-bay,would have to drive 30 mi round trip to boneyard,and don't need anything else there. Are the wires color coded? I'll probably get a ford one Is there any years that are better than others? I saw 2 different kind on e-bay and they both supposedly came from mustangs.Wonder how much a new one is,do parts stores handle them?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ford 1 and 2 piece fuel pump eccentrics lluciano77 Engine 34 06-12-2014 04:27 PM
Octane Booster Info SLR_65 Engine 46 09-30-2007 09:01 AM
Which waterpump? Eagle1 Engine 5 08-06-2004 06:38 PM
fuel pump wiring 68bird Electrical 4 06-17-2004 10:25 AM
Fuel Pump Wiring Harness bluesman123 Electrical 0 03-27-2003 07:33 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.