Electric auto choke - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-03-2013, 01:29 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Electric auto choke

Does anybody know where to hook up the positive wire from the carb seems like where ever wire it the 12volt resistor gets to hot any info is awesome and greatly appreciated thanx

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-03-2013, 06:22 PM
Faith - Respect - Trust
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ontario
Age: 58
Posts: 3,508
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 192
Thanked 638 Times in 572 Posts
Welcome aboard, if the car is a numbers matching, rare 61 Ford, your better off to keep it the factory color. Seeing that your planning on a few custom touches, paint it whatever shade of Black you like.

As far as the positive wire to the Carb, do you mean a wire that goes to an automatic choke?

Ray
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-03-2013, 08:30 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,442
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 195
Thanked 460 Times in 409 Posts
welcome , Just remember if the body is not perfect Black shows everything !!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-03-2013, 10:31 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yea I followed the edelbrock directions and went to key accessory and the resistor gets to hot as well as the automatic choke I'm sure its just a matter of messing around with a few different spots but being an older car I figured I would just ask thanx
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-04-2013, 06:49 PM
Faith - Respect - Trust
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ontario
Age: 58
Posts: 3,508
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 192
Thanked 638 Times in 572 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 61 ford View Post
Yea I followed the edelbrock directions and went to key accessory and the resistor gets to hot as well as the automatic choke I'm sure its just a matter of messing around with a few different spots but being an older car I figured I would just ask thanx
Try hooking the wire up to the fuse box to a spot that's labeled IGN, or ignition, that way you have current going to the choke when the key is in the on position only and have a consistent 12 volts going to the choke when the engine is running.

Hope this helps

Ray
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-05-2013, 01:31 AM
JeffB's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Age: 68
Posts: 1,715
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 89 Times in 82 Posts
On my Ford I ran a 12 gauge wire from the choke to the "I" terminal on the solenoid,been fine for over 4 years.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-05-2013, 05:09 AM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,096
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 140 Times in 131 Posts
I wouldn't recommend, running a wire from the "I" terminal....... It's only hot when the key is in the start position. So your choke would only be engaged for a few seconds, and if it starts ....... you really don't need a choke.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-05-2013, 01:11 PM
JeffB's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Age: 68
Posts: 1,715
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 89 Times in 82 Posts
I think you mean the "S" terminal aka "Start" terminal,put a test light to the same "I" terminal to confirm voltage it is also is supplying 12 volts to my HEI I don't think the car would run if the voltage was not at the terminal.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric Choke 55 CrownVic Electrical 2 02-14-2013 07:16 PM
changing a divorced choke to a electric choke? Help please?e 71GMC Engine 1 02-11-2012 05:14 PM
electric choke njbloodline666 Electrical 15 05-02-2006 05:55 AM
Electric choke 3100 Special Engine 10 04-23-2006 08:46 PM
electric choke SDSJap Engine 1 08-13-2004 08:41 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.