Electric choke wiring - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-11-2009, 07:36 PM
streetrodderbn's Avatar
Certifiable Streetrodder
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: n.e. ohio
Posts: 369
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Electric choke wiring

I have researched the site on electric choke wiring, I'm working on my son's 78 z28 with a carb shop quadrajet with electric choke. I swapped the original climatic choke from the z28 carb, but it would'nt function correctly, I then replaced the electric choke and wired it to the energize wire of the alternator, but it is making the alternator sense a draw in the battery, and causing it to constantly spike the charge(it shows 18 volts charge on the voltmeter) Can I simply run a wire with inline fuse from the ignition switch or ign. hot circuit on the fuse box if I assure it is a fused circuit? or do I have to run a relay?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-11-2009, 08:14 PM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 59
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 595 Times in 545 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by streetrodderbn
wired it to the energize wire of the alternator, but it is making the alternator sense a draw in the battery, and causing it to constantly spike the charge(it shows 18 volts charge on the voltmeter) Can I simply run a wire with inline fuse from the ignition switch or ign. hot circuit on the fuse box if I assure it is a fused circuit? or do I have to run a relay?
If you wire the choke to any other circuit, the choke will begin to heat up as soon as the key's turned on. Not a problem, usually- but one you should be aware of.

I suppose a relay would be the "correct" way of doing it, but IMO, simply wiring it to a switched, fused 12 VDC circuit that can handle the additional draw, or use a circuit that's usually present in the fuse box as an auxiliary, should be fine.

As for the voltage- this is not because the alternator senses the tiny draw from the choke. There's something else going on, possibly a bad regulator or gage.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-11-2009, 08:24 PM
justold's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: South Jersey
Age: 66
Posts: 188
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
To answer your question it is yes . to trouble shoot your problem there should be a conductor already there for the choke , it is controlled by an oil pressure switch located near the distributor or just above the oil filter .
Hope this helps .
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-12-2009, 04:48 AM
streetrodderbn's Avatar
Certifiable Streetrodder
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: n.e. ohio
Posts: 369
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thanks, that's the direction I'll go. the alternator seems to function fine without the choke plugged in on the same circuit as the energize wire!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quadrajet electric choke. kegross1 Electrical 7 09-21-2009 08:01 AM
Is Electric Choke Usually Wired thru Accessory? JohnTN Engine 3 01-05-2008 08:49 PM
Edelbrock carb electric choke problems csilva84 Engine 3 10-06-2007 08:40 PM
electric to manual choke conversion hiball Engine 3 12-21-2004 08:23 PM
Wiring an electric fan w/relay horvath Electrical 36 03-28-2004 05:09 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.