electric fan heat sensor - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2013, 06:51 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
electric fan heat sensor

hi i have a electric fan i need to install but not sure where a 3/8 port is on my 350 chevy motor too install the heat sensor also car has a blower on it if that makes a diffence please help pictures a big help
Thanks Orlando

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2013, 08:47 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
if it helps its a wieand intake man
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2013, 07:03 AM
delawarebill's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: delaware
Posts: 1,211
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 14
Thanked 58 Times in 58 Posts
sending unit

i'll assume u don't have a plug on the front of intake nx to the stat??? there is a plug on ea head in the middle of the 2 center plugs. u can use that. may not be the greatest place but its a place..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2013, 08:11 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by delawarebill View Post
i'll assume u don't have a plug on the front of intake nx to the stat??? there is a plug on ea head in the middle of the 2 center plugs. u can use that. may not be the greatest place but its a place..
i do have one on the front but my temperature gauge is hooked up there do think i can move temperature gauge to head area and then install heater sensor in front will my temperature gauge read right?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2013, 08:18 AM
sedanbob's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: St. Louis
Age: 65
Posts: 625
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 60
Thanked 80 Times in 77 Posts
One option might be to put a bung in the bottom of the radiator (that's an option on most aluminum rads), but either use an adjustable thermostat or a lower temp, since the bottom of the radiator won't be as hot as the top of your intake.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2013, 08:27 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i have a tapping on intake man but my temp gauge is there now could i move that to the head and use the front one on intake for sensor and will my gauge read temp right on the head?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2013, 12:19 PM
ogre's Avatar
the 'Duracell Project'
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Motown
Posts: 1,375
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts
i have mine installed in my lower radiator hose foir the past 15,000 miles
a short piece of ss exhaust tubing and half a ss coupling.
don't forget to add a ground wire if you go this route.

my thoughts on installing it in the lower hose?
in the intake the fan will run anytime the motor is warm even if the thermostat is closed and the radiator is a frozen block of ice.
in the thermostat housing the fan will run every time the thermostat opens, even if the radiator is cold as ice.
lower hose the fan will run only after the radiator is warm and not doing it's job
i should put an led in my cab to see the cycle times, but it has worked fine for 3 years.
why fix it if i ain't broke

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2013, 12:20 PM
ogre's Avatar
the 'Duracell Project'
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Motown
Posts: 1,375
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts
i really need to clean my engine bay
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2013, 01:34 PM
sedanbob's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: St. Louis
Age: 65
Posts: 625
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 60
Thanked 80 Times in 77 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ogre View Post
i really need to clean my engine bay
Don't we all? Good reminder about the ground wire.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2013, 03:38 PM
delawarebill's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: delaware
Posts: 1,211
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 14
Thanked 58 Times in 58 Posts
temp probe

Quote:
Originally Posted by orlando295 View Post
i do have one on the front but my temperature gauge is hooked up there do think i can move temperature gauge to head area and then install heater sensor in front will my temperature gauge read right?
yes u can.. the temp will be a little diff from the stat area to the head area. i had an old tunnel with no port for a temp probe and used the head area.. changed intake and went to the stat area. but bottom line is yes u can us it.. might consider using the lower hose fitting too.. that is a nice idea.. or cut the upper and install there too...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Place for Temp Sensor for Electric Fan? trifivefan Electrical 12 09-19-2011 05:30 AM
Electric fan sensor mounting. cboy Electrical 11 05-20-2010 11:08 AM
looking for a trans sensor to trigger an electric fan wave1957 Transmission - Rearend 1 04-01-2010 09:13 PM
Need a sending unit sensor for my electric fan Blazin_Jason Electrical 4 03-05-2007 04:07 PM
SBC - effective cooling / electric fan sensor Limey Simon Engine 9 02-06-2003 01:39 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.