Electric fan sensor mounting. - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-19-2010, 07:33 PM
cboy's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Finished
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atwater, CA
Age: 69
Posts: 3,918
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
Electric fan sensor mounting.

The wiring kit with my Perma-Cool electric fan is one of those external modules which is mounted on the outside of a radiator hose using a tie wrap. I've got a similar sensor on my roadster and I've never been able to get it mounted well enough to work properly or consistently. And the one I have for the sedan delivery isn't working either. Among other things, when the engine heats up, the tie rap plastic gets soft and the contact between the sensor and the hose loosens up considerably.

Short of another wiring kit with an internal sensor in the block or head, has anyone devised a way to attach one of these sensors so that it is reliable?

    Advertisement
__________________
Always learning...and sharing what I've learned. The Scratch-Built Hot Rod.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-19-2010, 07:51 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
What about some of that heat resistant/conductive glue, then you could might glue it to the side or top of the radiator?

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-19-2010, 08:01 PM
cboy's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Finished
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atwater, CA
Age: 69
Posts: 3,918
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 302 Z28
What about some of that heat resistant/conductive glue,
Good thought. My only concern would be that it might be a bit too "permanent". If it didn't work, for some reason, could the glue on the sensor render it unusable for another type of mounting experiment. But then, if others chime in who have done it this way with good success, then I'd be willing to give it a shot.
__________________
Always learning...and sharing what I've learned. The Scratch-Built Hot Rod.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-19-2010, 09:03 PM
pepi's Avatar
How’s that hopey-changey thing
 
Last wiki edit: Determining top dead center
Last journal entry: Quicky frame dolly
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Georgia ... USA
Posts: 1,835
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I would think this would be cleaner looking and a more direct and accurate way to control a fan and water temp. The sensor would be in the block/manifold and in the water path .

http://www.speedwaymotors.com/Electr...nsor,2349.html
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-19-2010, 09:20 PM
cboy's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Finished
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atwater, CA
Age: 69
Posts: 3,918
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepi
I would think this would be cleaner looking and a more direct and accurate way to control a fan and water temp.
Yes, as noted in my OP, I'm fully aware of the "in block" sensors. But my question was, short of buying one of those, what ways have people found to reliably mount THIS sensor. It's the one that came with my fan/wiring and it is the one I have. If no one has ever been able to mount one of these so it works, then maybe I'd consider an alternative. But for the present, I'm just looking to make this one work.
__________________
Always learning...and sharing what I've learned. The Scratch-Built Hot Rod.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-19-2010, 09:30 PM
pepi's Avatar
How’s that hopey-changey thing
 
Last wiki edit: Determining top dead center
Last journal entry: Quicky frame dolly
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Georgia ... USA
Posts: 1,835
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
understood I just go for bullet proof myself, obviously the method that painless has is not so great . Considering that you also mention that the other hotrod has the same hook up that sometimes does not work "properly or consistently" the block sensor will 100%
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-19-2010, 09:36 PM
66GMC's Avatar
Get in, sit down, hang on
 

Last journal entry: Cab Removal
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Olds, Alberta Canada
Age: 57
Posts: 2,761
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 32
Thanked 90 Times in 85 Posts
Have you talked to Permacool's Tech Support?

Hopefully you don't get the "Dang, that's the first we've heard of that!" response.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-19-2010, 09:42 PM
matts37chev's Avatar
I don't understand?
 

Last journal entry: this is only a test
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Shelton,Wa.
Posts: 2,449
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
can you use a hose clamp instead of zip tie to mount it on the hose?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 05-19-2010, 09:52 PM
pepi's Avatar
How’s that hopey-changey thing
 
Last wiki edit: Determining top dead center
Last journal entry: Quicky frame dolly
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Georgia ... USA
Posts: 1,835
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If it is one of those flat probes i have seen them slipped in under the radiator hose and the the clamp is run down so it dose not leak . Less ugly then clamps all over the place .. you took a long time to build a clean ride do not muck it up with the wiring .
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 05-20-2010, 06:06 AM
cboy's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Finished
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atwater, CA
Age: 69
Posts: 3,918
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepi
...If it is one of those flat probes i have seen them slipped in under the radiator hose
Unfortunately, this is the much taller style...about 3/4"-1" high. So it's pretty obtrusive.
__________________
Always learning...and sharing what I've learned. The Scratch-Built Hot Rod.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 05-20-2010, 10:45 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: kansas
Age: 67
Posts: 515
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
In my '48 Dodge with a '85 318, I had a set up with a probe tyhat stuck in between the fins in the radiator. Was not a very good system ! Went thru 2 control units in 2 years ! Finally made my own .... As I have a short lenght of metal pipe in the top rad hose, just after the curve comming out of the thermostat, so the pipe is level , (befor it gets to the rad ) , installed switch (grounding type ) in the bottom of the short piece of pipe, so when the thermostat opens, the hot water crosses the switch , gcompletes the circut, and then grounds the relay on the fender. The relay is just a regular square relay found on many cars , just wire it in .....simple and easy.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 05-20-2010, 11:08 AM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: 50 Ply wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pottstown,Pa
Posts: 645
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
I have seen metal(aluminum) tie wraps. I would try checking out the web and you may find a place that carrys them.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! Electric Cooling fan set up. How do you... camaro freak Engine 4 08-19-2007 08:29 PM
electric fan CARGUY Electrical 2 06-12-2006 03:35 PM
Electric or Mechanical fan? Which do you prefer? Z-Money Pit Engine 13 11-15-2005 05:44 AM
Electric Fan Recommendations? Malibu73 Engine 18 06-01-2005 03:26 PM
Why does fuel pressure drops when electric fan turns on Palmtrees57chevy Engine 34 03-31-2005 11:47 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.