Electrical Panel help - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2005, 02:14 PM
gator412's Avatar
1955 2nd series Chevy Pick Up
 

Last journal entry: Body work and U bolts
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Santa Maria, Taxifornia
Age: 53
Posts: 282
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Electrical Panel help

Hey Guys...any sparkies out there? I am looking at a building to lease and it has to have 200 amp service to it. The panel says 150 amp 3 phase. Can the legs be spit to get 200 amp in 120 volt. Hope I posed this question right.
Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2005, 03:53 PM
poncho62's Avatar
Out of the Loop Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Age: 61
Posts: 16,782
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 19
Thanked 231 Times in 191 Posts
Moving this to the Garage forum......

Pretty sure that you need the proper panel, and you are going to want 220 volts.
__________________
Ontario Rodders
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2005, 04:51 PM
Henry Highrise's Avatar
Lost in the 60's
 
Last wiki edit: Removing stuck fasteners Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Dixieland
Age: 69
Posts: 15,182
Wiki Edits: 4

Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
I am pretty sure you can get 120 volts single phase off of one leg. You really need an electrician working with that three phase stuff.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2005, 06:08 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Mountainair NM
Age: 57
Posts: 103
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Well I are one LOL, AS Henry said when you start messing with 3 phase you had better know what you are doing. I can generally talk people through work on a single phase panel, but working 3 phase had better be left for professionals. What is the voltage coming in? How do you Know that there is 200 Amps coming in, could there be a second panel that is getting part of the incoming amperage?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2005, 06:58 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,908
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
I am pretty sure you will need to hook up a tran$former to get the proper power from this circuit.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2005, 07:16 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Mountainair NM
Age: 57
Posts: 103
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Just reread what you are asking for I have never seen a 200 amp 120V breaker. What are you trying to power??!!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2005, 08:15 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,908
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Gator, One thing is certain and that is you NEED an electrician to do this since this is definitely NOT a DIY project! No offense meant but unless you are absolutely sure how to do this then don't even think of getting into that three phase box! Someone may try and walk you through it and have nothing but the best intentions but if you misunderstand even one step it could be extremely dangerous. DON"T TRY THIS, GET PROFESSIONAL HELP!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2005, 08:38 PM
gator412's Avatar
1955 2nd series Chevy Pick Up
 

Last journal entry: Body work and U bolts
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Santa Maria, Taxifornia
Age: 53
Posts: 282
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hahahahaha...I was not going to attempt this myself. I don't want to be lit up as a Christmas tree!. As I said I need 200 amp service into the building. Not that I need a 200 amp breaker! That would be one big motor! Anyway I called an electrician friend of mine and we went over it. Looks like I have 150 amp 3 phase into the building. Looks like they will be pulling some wire for me!
By the way there will be 8 commercial refrigerators, 2 freezers, commercial dishwasher, cloths washer and dryer. Not to mention the other stuff like lights computers etc. That is why I need 200 amp service.

Thanks guys for the help!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-08-2005, 07:32 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,908
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Gator, That's sounds a lot better! I could not help but picture someone trying to figure out how get single phase power out of a 3 phase service, it's not that simple! Glad to hear you have help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-08-2005, 08:30 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Montvale, NJ
Age: 58
Posts: 222
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
3 phase is a completely different animal then single phase. You have way more power then you think. At 150 amps, you have a lot more power availbe then a 200 amp single phase. A 200 amp, 240 volt sevice is 48 KVA, a 150 amp at 208 volts is 54 KV because it has a 1.73 factor to multiply it by for the third leg. Voltage on a 3 phase is going to depend on your transformer connection on the secondary side. Most likely you have a 120/208 volt service. This is called a "wye" connection. You could have a delta or open delta wich is a little more tricky is the sense you need to be more cautious in your 120 volt connect since you have only 2 of the three legs to take 120 volt fron. The other leg, often called the high or red leg has 208 volts to ground and will fry your stuff! If you have this connection, you should have a second panel dedicated to 120 volt circuit use. On the 120/208 volt, wye system it doesn't matter what leg you use for 120 volts as they all are 120 to neutral.

Usually small buidings with light loads will get the open delta system because the utility company can use 2 transformers instead of 3. If you have a 120/208 volt service, you need to be aware that any electric motors need to be rated for 208 volts and not just for 240 volts. I agree, this is a job for a pro to do!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12-08-2005, 12:06 PM
Mustangsaly's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 1,071
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
all the 120 / 208 3 phase systems i've seen are 120v phase to ground (on all 3 phases) or 208 volts phase to phase, lota schools, older small grocery stores ect. around here have the 120 208 3phase systems. but most of the 120/240 3 phase systems have a wild leg (if not all 120/240 3 phase systems i've seen do) so 2 phases of a 120/240v 3 phase systems are 120 v to ground, and one of the 3 phases (the wild leg/high leg as we call it) are around 208 to ground. but any 2 phases of a 120/240 3phase system phase to phase is 240v. hope this helps.




Mustangsaly
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12-08-2005, 12:08 PM
Mustangsaly's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 1,071
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldred
Gator, That's sounds a lot better! I could not help but picture someone trying to figure out how get single phase power out of a 3 phase service, it's not that simple! Glad to hear you have help.

this is Not a Trick but very easy and common.........
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 12-08-2005, 01:49 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,908
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
I didn't say it was a trick and sure it it easy for someone familiar with doing it but to try and tell someone unfamiliar with it how to do it over the internet is just plain dangerous! I don't mean to take a slap at anyone when I say that an untrained person has no business in a 3 phase box it is just good common sense because one mistake could cause a lot of damage or even kill someone. With electrical power being as unforgiving as it is this is one thing that should be left to someone properly trained.

Gator, I know you already said you are having this done by a licensed electrician but for someone else thinking about "learning as I go" this is one area best left alone until after proper training.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 12-08-2005, 09:50 PM
Mustangsaly's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 1,071
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldred
I didn't say it was a trick and sure it it easy for someone familiar with doing it but to try and tell someone unfamiliar with it how to do it over the internet is just plain dangerous! I don't mean to take a slap at anyone when I say that an untrained person has no business in a 3 phase box it is just good common sense because one mistake could cause a lot of damage or even kill someone. With electrical power being as unforgiving as it is this is one thing that should be left to someone properly trained.

Gator, I know you already said you are having this done by a licensed electrician but for someone else thinking about "learning as I go" this is one area best left alone until after proper training.

I did Not Mean it that way, just ment its possible. I'm a Nebraska licensed electrician . it is hard to tell someone unfamiliar with it how to do it over the internet or in person most times.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 12-09-2005, 08:40 AM
gator412's Avatar
1955 2nd series Chevy Pick Up
 

Last journal entry: Body work and U bolts
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Santa Maria, Taxifornia
Age: 53
Posts: 282
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I was just trying to educate myself in what options I have here. As I stated I need 200 amp service in the building. I am going to have a licensed electrician do the work. My main question was can I get 200 amps single phase out of 150 amp three phase. So don't worry guys I won't do the work (I am a sheet metal worker not an electrician) and I hope that anyone doing any electrical work would get a licensed electrician to do it. Thanks, Gator
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! What To Do With These GIGANTIC Dents!? mistermuscles Body - Exterior 14 09-16-2005 05:24 AM
wanted: an answer to a simple question ikeaguirre14 Body - Exterior 4 05-15-2005 07:23 PM
Electrical sub panel help adivito Garage - Tools 18 02-26-2005 12:51 PM
Repair of large dents in roof? rlackey Body - Exterior 9 01-28-2005 10:36 PM
Quarter Panel Patch Ron M Body - Exterior 1 07-27-2004 01:12 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.