Electrical problem - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2012, 05:29 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 37
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Electrical problem

Guys,
I'm having a problem with my new wiring on my car. When I turn on the headlights after about a minute it kills all the power and in 15 sec it comes back on.

What I have done to test it is, I've disconnected both headlights and she never pops the fuse/breaker with the switch on. Also, running one light at a time no problem also. My only thought is I used one ground to connect all of the front lights, could this be the problem?

The only fuse/breaker that came in the kit is the one from the alternator to the main power feed back to the battery. I'm assuming this is the one which is popping.

Any help would be great thanks,

John
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2012, 07:07 AM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: General Motors transmissions Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: near Yellowstone park
Posts: 4,043
Wiki Edits: 27

Thanks: 10
Thanked 208 Times in 195 Posts
breaker

Some light switches have a built in circuit breaker, both lights are overloading one of the breakers. You can check the alternator to bat breaker with out a meter by turning on your lights until one breaker trips then holding your finger on the alternator breaker and you should be able to feel a click when the lights come back on. if it is the light switch breaker you should hear it when the lights come back on . with out Knowing how your system is wired it's hard to do a long range diagonosis, You might need to add a headlight relay. there are several diagrams here on HR in the electrical or on the WIKI information.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2012, 07:11 AM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: 700r4 still running strong
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lakehills Tx
Posts: 458
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 46
Thanked 32 Times in 32 Posts
You have a resetable breaker,or a relay problem.I'm just guessing that the wire size is to small.I put a head light kit in my sons Toyota an I was amazed at how small the wiring was.Small wire gets hot fast an causes the breaker to heat up and it shuts down,when it cools down it resets it self.Sand the area to bear metal where the ground goes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2012, 07:16 AM
67Mustang Al.'s Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tasmania, Australia.
Posts: 432
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
I think what you have here is a breaker that is rated below what your headlights are drawing. If you have a 20 AMP breaker and your lights together are drawing 25 amps then your breaker will heat up, pop out, cool down , and then reset again turning itself back on.
If you disconnected one light and the breaker did not pop thats telling you that the breaker,s rating is only enough to handle one light, not two.
You are probably going to have to use a headlight relay to overcome the high current draw you have with two headlights.( Tim and others here have suggested also.)
If you can follow the diagram i think you will solve your problem. If you have 100 w globes x2, thats 200 /12 = 16 amps current just for two lights. So if other circuits are also using the same breaker then it is overloaded. Ignition circuit maybe 10 or 15 amps. So there is 31 amps with lights and ignition.
Try the relay.
Al.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	url.jpeg
Views:	41
Size:	26.0 KB
ID:	67677  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2012, 08:58 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 37
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks guys the harness is a EZ-wire 22 circuit same as the painless one.
(I know not really the same) However, the switch does not have a breaker. What really confused me was I didn't install any breakers I'm assuming the fuse/breaker is the one which is coming off the alternator. It looks like a ATC Style Breaker which may only be 20 amps.

I forget but need to look if the ATC Style Breaker is on the alternator lead or the fuse block. Because if it is just only on the alternator lead It should not lose power on the whole car, correct? I could up the breaker size but concerned of melting my new ride. (btw it is a 69 camaro)

The relay idea is a good one but I guess I need two, one for high and one for low beams?

Thanks
John
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2012, 12:09 PM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
May help you out:
Relay/Headlights Catalog

Relay Kit Catalog

Chevy Main wiring Catalog

Electric Tech MadElectrical.com - Electrical Tech
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2012, 01:37 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 37
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSedan64 View Post
May help you out:
Relay/Headlights Catalog

Relay Kit Catalog

Chevy Main wiring Catalog

Electric Tech MadElectrical.com - Electrical Tech
Thanks there is some good info in the links.
BTW I looked up the power of the lights and they are
Bulb Type: H4/60/55W 5000K Super White Color
Also here is my baby

Last edited by johntm; 08-30-2012 at 01:44 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2012, 05:44 PM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 1,881
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 90 Times in 83 Posts
Dude, one clean bay there!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-31-2012, 04:07 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 37
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by EOD Guy View Post
Dude, one clean bay there!
Thank you....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 09-03-2012, 06:52 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 37
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Guys just wanted to stop by and say the problem was the draw from the fan. So I added a relay for the lights and the fan and problem was solved.

Thanks
John
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 09-04-2012, 03:46 AM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 1,881
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 90 Times in 83 Posts
Good to hear you got it sorted out, not many folks post with solutions.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 09-04-2012, 03:58 AM
67Mustang Al.'s Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tasmania, Australia.
Posts: 432
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Good job, problem solved easily Auto electricians wont be paid after all. A quote to rewire my 67 was around a week full-time and approx $2000. A good incentive for me who took well over three weeks with an EZY kit.
Al.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 09-05-2012, 02:59 AM
JeffB's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Age: 68
Posts: 1,560
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 64 Times in 57 Posts
Good info here too about relays: Custom Cars Classic Hotrods Streetrods-Watsons StreetWorks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 09-05-2012, 05:31 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 37
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks Guys this information came at the right time. I'm upgrading to the Lincoln Mark VIII fan and that thing draws 70 amps

John
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 09-05-2012, 07:17 AM
67Mustang Al.'s Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tasmania, Australia.
Posts: 432
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
What size alternator are you running BTW if you go to a 70amp cooler.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need help electrical problem lets_baja Engine 1 02-22-2008 03:45 PM
c-10 electrical problem 47chevrolet Electrical 2 04-27-2007 07:51 AM
Electrical Problem headturner73 Engine 3 04-10-2007 09:37 PM
electrical problem dragonboy Electrical 1 01-22-2007 02:37 PM
electrical problem pintoperformance Electrical 2 12-12-2003 09:28 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.