engine building - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-22-2012, 10:40 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

engine building

i have a 79 350 turbo 400 in a 91 s10 and i want more top end power out of my stock setup. Now i do have a set of vortec heads edelbroc intake and a new carb. now is this going to be good enough to improve my top end or do i need to add a cam to the equation and if i need a cam do i need to replace the stock springs and lifters. this is my first build and i am doing it by myself so anything u guys could add to help me out would be really awesome. like i said i am pretty impressed with my 0 to 60 it is a sreaming little truck stoplight to stoplight but i want more!

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-22-2012, 10:55 AM

headers and exhaust is the best place to start.see where it takes you
The Following User Says Thank You to vinniekq2 For This Useful Post:
bfhduh (08-22-2012)
Old 08-22-2012, 11:03 AM

well i bought a set of header especially for v8 s10 builds that wrap around the steering column from patriot but i do not have exhaust yet so let me fix that and i will be back
Old 08-22-2012, 11:05 AM

use dual 3 inch with an X pipe if you have room
The Following User Says Thank You to vinniekq2 For This Useful Post:
bfhduh (08-22-2012)
Old 08-22-2012, 02:47 PM
More machine than man

Last journal entry: bwaahhaahahaaahhaa
Last photo:

Headers and exhaust will certainly help, but probably not going to get you where you want. Depending on the article you read, Vortec heads will add 25-50HP over the 70's smog era heads. The Edlebrock intake will tack on a few HP and torque numbers, but its not huge.