engine never started/malloryhyfire6al/nospark - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-18-2010, 12:58 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

engine never started/malloryhyfire6al/nospark

I'm curios if there may be a suitable wiring diagram of sort which could tell me complete details of how I should properly wire my mallory hyfire 6al with procomp coil and billet dist. w/magnetic pickups, 100 amp alt (1 or 3 wire option). I am starting from scratch, my motor has never been fired, and I'm just wondering if there is anything I should be aware of and if there is a regultor or something within the wireup that I should know, etc,etc, so that I can either rule in or out weather or not I cooked the microprocessor, bad coil, this is my first time wiring something of this nature from scratch, also on a 454 is #1 piston driver or pass front, and should your rotor be pointing at the #1 @ tdc on a big block. any response is greatly appreciated....thanks....Eric

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-18-2010, 11:31 PM
489 Lemans

Last journal entry: Street Legal
Last photo:

try this

I only use MSD but they have very good instruction manuals. You may glean the information you are looking for from them. Next #1 cylinder is front driver's side. I set my engine on 10 degrees before TDC. Then make a mark somewhere in which direction the rotor is pointing. Then place the cap on the distributor and aim the closest plug wire connector at the mark. This will be #1 cylinder. Install your plug wires and she should start first try. If you have a flat tappet cam, you don't want to be screwing around trying to get the motor fired.
Old 11-18-2010, 11:49 PM