Engine Options 400 vs 454 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-20-2013, 11:51 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Engine Options 400 vs 454

Hello HotRodders,

I am fairly new to the hot rod world, i am sure somebody can help me out. I have a 1971 impala. Its got a 400 Small Block with 109k mi. Only going to be driven every other weekend. I Have 3k to spend plus more from a job i got a couple days ago.

Here is my scenario -

I want to swap the 400 small block for a 454. My reason's are because it would be newer, last longer, and for bragging rights. I would also like to get the car in some competitions in the future (Realistically speaking Im 20, am I really going to have the time,patients, and money for competitions )

My friend suggests I should spend the money on my current engine and beef it up for right now so I can play around and flex the muscles. This way ill be able to save my money for a car worth throwing a big block in.

I would love to hear what you guys say.

Respectfully,

B.T.N

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-21-2013, 12:08 AM
www.generationhighoutput. com

Last wiki edit: Painting chrome wheels
Last journal entry: Stopping my journal entries here
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 15

I will do my best to channel my best "Techinspector" for you.

Figure out what your exact goal/plan is for it and then stick to it. Put your money into the car in this order:

- rear end
- transmission
- engine