Engine Runs Warm - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-10-2007, 10:15 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Engine Runs Warm

I have a 350 SB GM crate engine in a 63 Impala SS with stock radiator which is relatively new. The cam is one notch over stock, with DEI ignition and Holley 4B Avenger. Temperature gauge indicates 205-220 when warm and holds steady in the lower part of the range with higher temperatures only upon long idling, and thermometer in radiator cap indicates 160-170. Although it has never overheated or lost coolant, those temperatures seem warm to me. But I'm not an expert. Some possibilities come to mind ... radiator inadequate, radiator fouled, leaking head gasket, improper fan shroud (doesn't cover about 1" of the blade depth)?

Any thoughts on my quandry would be appreciated.

Phil Young

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-10-2007, 11:04 AM
Bottle Fed

Last photo:

Retarded timing can also cause over heating issues. 220 is pretty warm.
Are you sure your gauge is correct? Temp sender good? What is your timing set at?
Old 08-10-2007, 11:50 AM
Not Considered a Senior Member

Last photo:

What source of vacuum is the vacuum advance connected to? full time manifold vacuum, or off idle ported vacuum? it should be connected to a full time manifold source. What temp thermostat are you using? Does the radiator have a overflow bung with a hose leading to a overflow can? If so are you using a pressure vent radiator cap? What kind of fan? Have you pulled a plug to see if it`s running too lean?
Old 08-10-2007, 11:50 AM
Takes Guts To Cut One Up

Last photo:

Quote:
Originally Posted by pyjeep