Estimate Horsepower/Torque on my Chevy please - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-05-2004, 01:51 AM
'68 Chevelle Malibu Sedan

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Estimate Horsepower/Torque on my Chevy please

Hi all again, I'm here to try and get a rough figure for just how much horsepower my '73 chevrolet Malibu 4DR is running, I'll tell you what I can, but my dad's the mechanic, I'm just learning so bear with me.

Okay, all I know is it has a built 350 V8 with a 4 barrel carb on it. It has speiclal pistons + rings on it, it's been bored and flowed (to make all the places where air flow through line up real good, not sure if that's the term though). Um, I think my dad replaced the cam in it, but I'm not sure.

Back when it was running he ran it down to the beach to have his friend put a new exhaust system on it. There was a piece of junk rebuilt carb on the motor at the time and when my dad was on his return trip home he had it wide open on this long stretch and got it up to 135Mph. Later on he found out that on that trip home on that stretch when he had it wide open, the secondaries in the carberuator (sp?) were frozen shut and he had scored two cylinders on the car and it ran steadily worse until it ended up where it is today, right in front of our house waiting for the engine to be rebuilt.

Anyway, it also has a Turbo 350 tranny in it with front + rear sway bars, and performance suspention, it took corners real good.