Etch Primer - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-06-2013, 08:08 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Etch Primer

Hey guys,

This might seem like a stupid question, but I'm new to this kind of primer. From what I have gathered though I do not have to take the paint down to the bare metal. Do I only need to knock the clear coat off to spray a layer?

Thanks for any info,
Bobby

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-07-2013, 04:53 AM
Faith - Respect - Trust

Last photo:

Hi Bobby

The title of your thread is "Etch Primer" and your saying that your new to this kind of primer. To be honest with you, the questions are a little confusing, but stupid....not at all, stupid is not asking any questions.

I will try my best to explain Etch Primer to you. Etch Primers and Epoxy Primers are primers that inhibit rust from forming on metal underneath your new paint. When a vehicle is being sanded or prepped for paint, very often the person preparing the vehicle will sand through the paint right down to the metal. When this happens the person preparing the vehicle should apply a light coat of Etch primer over the bare metal followed by a 2 part primer (2K primer) or the person could apply a coat of a sandable Epoxy primer. A sandable Epoxy primer is a good choice to apply over bare metal as well, this would eliminate the need for applying an Etch Primer and a 2 part Primer over top of the Etch Primer, as a sandable Epoxy Primer has properties that minimize the chance of rust appearing on bare metal.