Everything is lifting - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-03-2008, 06:10 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Everything is lifting

Ok, I'm a beginner painter and im learning mostly by trial and error method. My problem is this: recently I was color sanding and buffing the car, it was turnining out beautifully until the last few inches I needed to buff and thats when the buffer jumped and burned through in two places, darn! So, Ive sanded these areas down and feather edged nicely but I had to go back down to the base. I put on some polyester filler and noticed very small cracks forming where the filler touched the base. I thought I could cover it with primer but thats when it really started lifting. I resanded back down to the base and tried to glaze it out no luck it turned everything to putty. I'm using Nason base/clear and there is a very strong odor when sanding to the base like the paint is still wet/evaporating, but it has been painted for almost three years now. What can I do to stop the lifting now?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-03-2008, 07:36 PM
Cox Custom Cars

Last photo:

Sand the entire area down to the basecoat. Then mix some epoxy reduced to a sealer as per instructions on the P-Sheet.

Seal the entire area. Using a scotchbrite pad, scuff the area including an area beyond the sealed area.

reapply you base coat but do not go past the sealed area.

apply three coats of clear coat and go to the edge of the scuffed area, but not past it.

After cured, Wet sand with 1200, 1500 and 2000, out past the scuffed area. Then buff to a high shine.

Frank
Old 09-03-2008, 08:33 PM

Last photo:

Thanks for the quick reply I will get some sealer