Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board

Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/)
-   Body - Exterior (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/body-exterior/)
-   -   Extremely hard clearcoat???? (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/extremely-hard-clearcoat-183129.html)

427blownvette 08-22-2010 12:13 AM

Extremely hard clearcoat????

1 Attachment(s)
I am new to painting and ran into some issues.

I decide to paint my 81 corvette. I molded the front bumper smooth, installed a lambourgini door kit, high rise rear bumper and fixed all the spidercracks and blemishes.

I used a 2k high build primer/sealer and put on 3 good coats, blocked sanded with 220, 400 and 800.
Sprayed on 3 coats of Black basecoat and everything looks great, paint is already shining and no problems.
I waited the 45 minutes as directed by my tech sheet to begin clearing.

I had to mix my clear in 2 different containers, the first batch of clear was mixed exactly as the tech sheet recommended in a 2:1 ratio. I was able to lay on 2 heavy coats of clear before having to mix my last batch.

When I mixed the last batch it was 3am and I guess I wasnt paying attention. Instead of mixing the clear with the hardener I grabber bug and wax remover and used that!!! Which means my last coat of clear had ZERO hardener in it. The clear was now mixed 2:1/2 wax remover. (I didnt find this out until early next morning.)
I sprayed on the last heavy coat of clear and called it a night. Early the next morning (7 hours cure time) I went to my garage and discovered my mistake. I went over to the car and amazingly the clearcoat was hard.