FE 390 vs 427 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-05-2007, 09:34 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

FE 390 vs 427

I have purchased a donor car, a 65 Tbird with what I believe is a rebuilt 390. The installation of the engine was not completed and the car sat for 10 years. Before removing the engine I wish to test start it. What are the considerations to avoid damage to the engine? What systems are required? I thought I could hook up the fuel pump to a container, no coolant for a 3-4 minute run time, work the trottle by hand at the carb, etc. I am a novice at his sort of thing, please advise.

How can I tell for certain if my engine is a 390 or 427?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-05-2007, 02:38 PM

Joe -- I'm no expert on FE motors, but I do recall that the 427s were sleeved-cylinder motors. So, if you pull a head and find 4 sleeved cylinders, you can bet it's either a 427 or a very, very expensive rebuild.

BTW -- I don't recommend starting the engine off of a coffee can filled with gasoline. I did that once, and a friend and I started a fire under the hood of his nearly brand new 1968, 440 Charger. Neither of us was happy.

PatM
Old 06-05-2007, 03:11 PM

Last photo:

Quote:
Originally Posted by joebird2