Fiberglass Advice - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-19-2005, 06:20 PM
Music soothes the soul

Last journal entry: Wiring finished finally
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Fiberglass Advice?

Hey, how are all you guys doing? Basically, I'm fairly new to the world of restoration but absolutely am a car fanatic and do-it-yourselfer. I've had a 64 el camino for about 2 months and have been working on it as much as I can to fix it up and I've ran into something new that I'm not sure where to start at.

I have an after market fiberglass cowl induction hood(not sure how old it is but is in fairly good shape despite some dings and dents) with a small crack about 4-5 inches developing around the cowl opening area. I believe it is not cracked completely through the hood but it looks like it is considerably deep. I did consider a fiberglass repair kit for about 10 bucks but wasn't sure where to start with it so I tried out some bondo which is something I do have some beginner's experience with but I knew it probably wouldn't work since it's mainly for smoothing out small imperfections in the body so sure enough it didn't work. I do have an idea of how fiberglass repairs work but the bottom line is that I'm pretty much stumped about what to apply first and how to apply it and what will keep my hood from cracking. Suggestions?

Also, where can I find a fiberglass tailgate for my particular year since I want to shave a good deal of weight off? I do know they make fiberglass tailgates for the later model el caminos but have had no luck finding one if it even exists. Thanks in advance~

Advertisement

Last edited by Classix_Lover; 07-19-2005 at 06:55 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message