fiberglass to fiberglass scoop - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-06-2005, 07:36 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

fiberglass to fiberglass scoop

I've searched and I know that trying to bond fiberglass to metal has been covered over and over but I need to install a fiberglass cowl scoop to a fiberglass hood and I'm clueless as to where to begin. This is an exterior mount so I need to mold it to the hood smoothly enough to paint. Can anyone steer me toward some info. that would help? Please, keep in mind that I know NOTHING about fiberglass.
Peg
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-06-2005, 09:16 AM
Farfegnugen

Last journal entry: logo fun!
Last photo:

I am not a pro at this, but I did some fiberglass to fiberglass molding and I found that the fabric (fiber) and resin works best. You can buy sheets of fabric for fiberglass at your local auto parts store and there is a resin you use to make a "sandwich" of resin and fiber that when hardened becomes fiberglass...

I usually use/make some type of support system (skeleton) out of some aluminum strips and pop rivet it to the original pieces. This will give me a basic shape to work with then I just have to bridge the gaps (seams) with some cloth and resin. I lay out my fiber cloth on the project and cut out a piece of the fiber large enough to go at least a few inches past the seam. Then I follow the instructions on the can of fiberglass resin. I usually do an application of the cloth and resin on the inside of the skeleton first, then attach the unit to whatever I am attaching it to and then apply cloth and resin on the outside. Sand smooth, prime, and paint.
Old 06-06-2005, 09:47 AM